Instant Pot Tropical Chicken & Rice

I know I’ve sung the praises of my Instant Pot before, but here I go again! I really think there is a learning curve with this gadget and I think I may be on the verge of really figuring it out. It is so perfect for busy day meals or days when I forgot to take meat out of the freezer. For me, those days are usually one in the same! I’m terrible at meal planning. 
 

That’s actually not true. I’m great at meal planning. What I’m bad at is meal follow through.

Anyway, this was a super easy and quick recipe that I will definitely be making again. I use the term recipe lightly.

Throw two chicken breasts in the Instant Pot. Top with one 12oz jar of Trader Joe’s Island Salsa (or any other tropical salsa you may find). Fill the jar up a little more than halfway with water and pour that into the Instant Pot with the salsa and the chicken.

 

Make sure the vent is closed and select manual and set the timer to 20 minutes if the chicken is frozen and 7 minutes if it is thawed.

When it’s done, shred the chicken but leave it in the juice that generates so it can soak up the flavors.

I topped mine with a mango sauce found in this recipe here: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/member/views/honey-lime-chicken-with-mango-sauce-52430181

Serve with brown rice and broccoli or any other veggie you like.

Leave a Reply

