Citrus Roasted Cod

I was never much of a fish eater growing up. My mom wasn’t a huge fan, so we just didn’t have it often. Occasionally, but not often. 

We still don’t eat very much fish, but that’s slowly been changing over the years I’ve been cooking. As I’ve grown up and expanded my food horizons, I’ve found that I really like most whitefish (cod, halibut, barramundi, specifically), and I LOVE salmon. I mean, really, salmon is sooooo good! And of course, I’ve always been a fan of shrimp and crab.

I recently picked up some cod from the store and decided to roast it. I’m going to consider this one of my No recipe Recipes, because it is so stinkin’ easy to put together! Fish takes almost no time at all to cook so it makes for a really fast weeknight dinner. And when my kids have tae kwon do, ballet, and baseball… and I have kickboxing… and my husband has softball, I need dinner to be the last thing to worry about.

I would feel like was doing you a disservice if I didn’t also mention how HEALTHY this meal is. There are approximately 15 grams of protein in 3oz of cod, 70 calories, and .6 grams of fat. It is an excellent source of B vitamins and potassium, and like many fish, a good source of healthy fats. It makes for a very light meal and will take on just about any flavor you add to it because its own flavor is very mild.

For this meal, I just sliced up 1 orange and one lemon and lay the sliced on a parchment lined baking sheet. Save a little bit of the lemon end to squeeze over the top of the fish.

I placed the cod filets on top of the citrus slices. I drizzled each with olive oil (I used my favorite garlic infused olive oil from Trader Joe’s but regular will work). Then I sprinkled each filet with some garlic salt, pepper, and marjoram. Finally, I squeezed the last little bit of lemon over the top. NOTE: you could use any mild white fish here if you don’t have cod.


I put the sheet in a 400 degree oven for about 13 minutes.

That’s it. So simple, but so yummy. It was actually pretty refreshing, which is nice for the warmer spring weather we’ve been having. I served mine with some roasted asparagus, which was easy too since I put the asparagus (coated in olive oil and garlic salt) in the oven about 10 minutes before I added the fish. Both trays came out at the same time.

We will definitely be having this more often!

Leave a Reply

