Roasted Veggie and Chicken Quesadillas

Oh my goodness! You guys!! I’ve been so busy. I mean, it’s a good thing to stay productive, but it means I neglect my blog and that makes me sad because creating recipes and meals makes me so happy. And I love sharing my foodie love with all my tens of readers :0)

In the spirit of my busy-ness, I will be sharing some “non-recipes” with you. These are some meals that I’ve thrown together out of necessity but actually turned out really good. They are very versatile so you can you change ingredients, do more or less of some flavors, whatever you like.

Sometimes we don’t have time to sit and measure and read through a recipe. Just get into the pantry and start throwing things together and see what happens. What’s the worst that can come of it? You have to call the pizza guy? Still a winner dinner in my book! We all have lives and things to do and, like the name of my blog says, at the end of the day, we are all just trying to put food on the table.

My first non-recipe recipe is for Roasted Veggie and Chicken Quesadillas. These are great for when you have veggies that you need to use up. Or when you just want something comforting but still has some nutritional value.

Bell peppers, cut into strips (I used half each of a red, orange, yellow, and green)

Zucchini, cut into strips

Garlic, minced

Olive oil

Salt and pepper

Cooked, shredded chicken

Lowfat Mexican cheese blend

Ezekiel Tortillas (unless you like these, use something else. I was not a fan.)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

On a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, lay out your cut up veggies in a single layer. Drizzle with olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper. Mix them around so they are all coated. Roast in the oven for about 20 minutes or until soft and fragrant.

Lay out one tortilla. I used Ezekiel brand and I did not really care for them. They have a weird texture and not much flavor. I would just use a regular whole wheat tortilla or a regular tortilla.

Anyway, lay out one tortilla and sprinkle with some cheese. Put a layer of veggies and some chicken. Sprinkle with more cheese on top and add the second tortilla.


Cook the quesadilla in some melted butter in a skillet for just a few minutes per side. You just want the cheese melted and the outside a nice golden brown.

Serve with some avocado and plain Greek Yogurt (I swear you won’t go back to sour cream once you try this much healthier alternative!)

2 thoughts on “Roasted Veggie and Chicken Quesadillas

Leave a Reply

