Sweet Potato Noodles with Sage Brown Butter and Walnuts 

Anyone else feel like this year has just gotten off to a running start? I feel like there was a bit of a rush with the holidays, then a little slow-down and now it’s off to the races again! I’m doing what I can to stay ahead of things, but every so often, I require myself to sit down and make a list prioritizing my tasks.

Unfortunately, blogging is never number one on the list. As much as I’d like it to be, it’s just not possible. I end up taking lots of pictures of my food and the process and then write up the posts later. I guess that’s better than not doing it all, right? Then I end up with a small stockpile of blog posts and I feel like I’m ahead of the game for a bit. I guess this is a good plan after all.

I also keep up regularly with Instagram, so you can visit me over there and see all the yummy stuff I’ve got going on.

Anyway, back to the food!

The other night I wanted to do a meatless Monday meal. I had some nice sized sweet potatoes on hand and had recently picked up some fresh sage (love this stuff!). I thought it would be perfect for noodles so I got out my spiralizer and got to work.

This meal came together very quickly and it was delicious! You could even serve it in smaller amounts as a side dish. I was going for a “Meatless Monday” but I’ll bet it would be fantastic with some crisped up pancetta added too.

These measurements made enough for two as a main course with a little leftover. 

Sweet Potato Noodles with Sage Brown Butter Sauce and Walnuts

1 large sweet potato 

Olive oil

Pinch of salt

1 stick unsalted butter

3 tablespoons fresh sage, chopped

Handful of walnuts

Peel the sweet potato and make your noodles with a spiralizer (swoodles). If you don’t have one, go on Amazon and get one. They are inexpensive and such fun! While you wait for it to be delivered, you can use a vegetable peeler to make your noodles.

In a skillet with a little olive oil (about a tablespoon), add your swoodles and season with a bit of salt. Cook over medium heat until soft, stirring often.

Meanwhile, in a separate skillet, add your butter over medium-high heat and let it melt. Cook until it starts to brown. This will happen fast so don’t walk away. Add your sage and let it cook for about a minute. Pour the sauce over the noodles and add your walnuts. I used some lightly sweetened walnuts I had from Trader Joe’s but you can use plain or raw or roasted. Whatever you like. I liked using the candied walnuts because it added just another balance of flavor. The butter takes on a nutty taste and the sage is nice and earthy. The sweetness from the nuts and potato just round it all out. Theoretically you can leave the walnuts out, but I wouldn’t recommend it. For a meatless meal, they add some protein and the crunch gives the dish some texture.

 

This was a big hit. My 3 year old kept taking bites off my plate and my kids are super picky eaters! There’s actually some leftovers in the fridge that I’m thinking about right now….

Leave a Reply

