Healthy Creamy Chicken Enchiladas 

So if you’ve been reading this blog for any length of time, you’ll know that I’m a big fan of kitchen gadgets. While I definitely have a special place in my heart for seemingly needless gadgets that only serve one purpose and are a bit ridiculous (I’m talking to you, avocado pitter/slicer that I never use but can’t bring myself to get rid of), my heart goes all aflutter for multipurpose gadgets. I mean serious multipurpose. Like LOTS of things.
Enter: The Instant Pot.

Apparently this is a thing that has been around for a while now. I thought it was new, but the more I research recipes, I find bloggers have been raving about this little R2D2 looking gadget for years now. Like usual, I’m late to the party. But no matter, I’m here now. I’m one of them. The Instant Pot People. And if you’re not careful, you could be one too.

Not that I would ever caution against getting one. They are the best. I got mine for Christmas and I am mind boggled at how well it works. Each thing I’ve made so far, I always look at my husband and say “There’s no way it’s done, right?” And each time it is done. Perfectly.

The first thing I made was hardboiled eggs. I just filled up the little trivet they give you, added a cup of water and set the timer for 3 minutes. No, that’s not a typo, people. THREE MINUTES. The eggs were perfectly hard boiled and best of all, they peeled like a dream! No more mangled eggs!

The Instant Pot is a 7-in-1 Pressure Cooker with approximately 1,254,765 uses. I still have a lot to learn, but it’s going to be fun!

For this dish, I made the chicken portion in the Instant Pot. If you don’t have one, you can use a slow cooker or even do it on the stove top or in the oven. Or beat us all with the ultimate time saver and buy one of those rotisserie chickens from the grocery store.

Creamy Chicken Enchiladas

4-5 chicken breasts (depending on size)

2 16 oz jars of salsa verde

¼ cup plain, nonfat greek yogurt

1-2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese

8 whole grain tortillas (I like the La Tortilla Factory Low Carb Whole Wheat Tortillas)

In a Pressure Cooker, add your chicken breasts and a jar of salsa. Set it manually, on high, for 7 minutes. (Yep. Seven whole minutes, you guys). When it’s done, do a quick release and remove the chicken.


Shred your chicken and add to a bowl. Mix in a few big ladle-fuls of the cooking liquid, the greek yogurt, and ½ the cheese.

Warm up your tortillas in some wet paper towels so they are more pliable. Fill each tortilla with the chicken mixture and roll up. Don’t be shy here. Place seem side down in a 9×13 baking dish. Make sure to pour a thin layer of the salsa verde on the bottom of the dish first.

 

After all the enchiladas are in the dish, pour the rest of the salsa over the top and sprinkle the rest of the cheese. Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes, then turn on the broiler for about 5 minutes until the cheese is all ooey gooey and starting to get a little golden brown on top.


That’s it! So easy, right? And pretty healthy too. I mean, there’s a little cheese in there, but everything in moderation, right? I’m not made of stone, people.

Leave a Reply

