Slow-cooker French Onion soup 

I want to introduce you guys to a little kitchen trick I just learned: Slow-cooker caramelized onions!
I know? Why did it take me so long to figure out you could do this? 

It’s super easy too, but it does take about 10-12 hours on low, so give yourself some time. I did mine overnight and they were perfect.

All you need to do is slice up your onions (I did 4 medium sized yellow onions) and put them in your slow cooker with a drizzle of olive oil. Set your cooker to low and cook for 10-12 hours (or overnight).

That’s it. You’re done.

Now, mine gave off a lot of water, so if you are just using this method for the onions, you can drain that off. I made French Onion Soup so I thought the liquid would add a lot of flavor.

To make the soup, like I did, just caramelize the onions and then add the soup ingredients found on this post here. I doubled this recipe because I used more onions this time, but you don’t have to. I just like my French Onion Soup a bit more brothy. I will say, it made a TON OF SOUP! Maybe I can freeze it?

Keep in the slow cooker on low for about 6 hours or until you are ready to eat. Everything is cooked, you are basically just keeping it hot at this point.

Ladle into oven-proof soup bowls, add your toasted French bread and some provolone (or gruyere would be really good) and put the bowls under the broiler for a few minutes until the cheese is bubbly and golden brown.

We are having some nice Fall weather here in SoCal, so this soup was perfect to warm up on a cold night.

Leave a Reply

