Sweet Potato Sliders 

If you’ve been reading this blog for awhile (thank you!!!) you know by now that I love easy recipes that I can make on a weeknight. And if my whole family loves it? Even better!

Well, these sweet potato sliders definitely fit the bill! They were so yummy! And they are actually really healthy too.

My hubby absolutely devoured his. He said he could eat these at least once a week “for the rest of my life.” Now that is a compliment! For the kiddos, I figured it would be a bit messy to have them eat the actual sliders, so I just cut up the turkey patties and mashed the sweet potatoes. They loved it too, which I will count as a life win, because these two are so picky sometimes I want to tear my hair out of my head.

But on to the sliders…

Sweet Potato Sliders

1-2 medium sized sweet potatoes (you want nice fat ones to make good sized sliders)
1 pound lean ground turkey
3 green onions, sliced small, white and light green parts only
1 tablespoon garlic salt
2 tablespoons Greek yogurt cream cheese
Any toppings you want. I used lowfat provolone and guacamole and they were simply heavenly.

Slice your sweet potatoes into about 1/4-1/2 inch rounds. Use the bigger middle part and save the smaller slices for something else. I used two medium sized potatoes and got 16 rounds out of them.

Put the rounds on a baking sheet and brush with a little bit of olive oil on each side and sprinkle with a little salt. Roast in the oven at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes, flipping halfway.

Meanwhile, make your patties:

Mix together the turkey, garlic salt, cream cheese, and green onions.

I found this Greek yogurt cream cheese at Sprouts and I am obsessed!! It tastes just like cream cheese, but it is much healthier for you. Way less fat, way less calories, plus added protein.  The cream cheese helps the turkey stay moist (which is difficult for turkey patties). If you can’t find this Greek cream cheese, you can use regular lowfat cream cheese.

Back to the patties…

I find ground turkey to be a bit sticky, so I just did my best and made little patties. Just base the size of the patties on the size of the sweet potato rounds you made.

After everything is done, just assemble them like you would any other burger or slider. Like I said, I used lowfat provolone and guacamole and it was ridiculously good. You could top it with whatever you like!

Leave a Reply

