Healthy Cookie Dough Bites

Warning: The following recipe is absolutely, 100%, seriously addicting. I got this recipe from a friend who raved about it on her Instagram (she doesn’t have a blog or anything to link to, but you can search #lifeonlomarecipes. She has this one and many of her other delicious creations there). 

When I first saw her post this, my initial thought was “Yeah, right. How could this possibly be good?” Then she kept making it over and over. Then other people started saying they had made it and that it was truly that good. 

I couldn’t figure it out. Healthy cookie dough bites? Really? How could these ingredients even work together? (You’ll see what I mean.) Anyway, I finally gave in and tried it out. I had all the ingredients I needed in my pantry so I set to it. 

You. Guys. I kid you not, these are amazing. Seriously. They are just as addicting as I was told and they taste EXACTLY LIKE CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE DOUGH!!!! I’m glad they are full of healthy ingredients, because I was nabbing bites every time I walked by the fridge. I even had a few friends try them to make sure I wasn’t losing my mind. 

My advice: Make these. Make them now and make them often. Keep some in your house and give some as gifts (the holidays are coming up soon!). You won’t regret it.

Now, without further ado, here is the recipe:

1 can (15oz) of chickpeas, rinsed and drained

1/3 cup peanut butter

2T honey

1 ½ t vanilla

Pinch of salt

Mini chocolate chips

Regular chocolate chips (optional)

What’s that you say? That’s it? That’s all that’s in this recipe? Yes. That’s it. These seemingly unrelated ingredients will come together to make perfect harmony. Trust me.

In a food processor, mix up your chickpeas until smooth. My food processor is really small, so I only used it for the chickpeas. If you have a bigger food processor, you could probably just put all the ingredients in there and save yourself a dish.

 

Once the chickpeas are all smooth, pour them into a bowl with the peanut butter, honey, vanilla, and salt. Mix well.

 

Add the mini chocolate chips and mix well.

 

Scoop out the “cookie dough” and form into 1” balls (or whatever size you want, actually). I was bad and didn’t really measure my ingredients very well. The end result was fine, but my “dough” was a little wetter than it was supposed to be so I couldn’t really roll it quite right. It was still fine, but next time it would be better to measure a bit more accurately.

 

Once your balls are all formed, freeze for about 10-30 minutes. Melt some chocolate and coat the balls in the chocolate. Freeze or refrigerate until set.

 

This last part is optional. I did it on half of mine. The other half, I just dipped the bottom half into chocolate. They are both amazing, but I actually preferred the ones that were only partially dipped. 

These babies are full of fiber and protein. The little sugar from the chocolate chips is fine. Also, you could probably swap them out for cocoa nibs and be even healthier if you wanted. You could probably also substitute the peanut butter for any sort of nut or seed butter you like. You could add oatmeal or even switch out the extract. I feel like these could be customized in a ton of different ways.

 

One thought on “Healthy Cookie Dough Bites

Leave a Reply

