Apple Pie

So recently, my girl Amber over at What Makes Me Amber made a pumpkin pie. She said she had never made one before and that surprised her. It got me thinking about making something surprising that I hadn’t made before and I realized that I’ve never made an apple pie.

I know, right? Of all things, I’ve never made an apple pie. It seems so basic. Like, baking 101. Well, somehow this one escaped me. Since it’s Fall, I figured now would be the perfect time to try this one out. Let me tell you, it was super easy! Even the lattice crust was easier than I ever thought. And while it was baking… oh the smells wafting through my house were just heavenly! I wish there were someway to share that with you all, but alas, you’ll just have to try it out for yourself.

1 double pie crust recipe. (store bought or homemade. You can use my basic crust recipe here, but add 1 tablespoon of sugar. Also, double it because you need a bottom and a top crust for this)

Filling:

6 apples, peeled and thinly sliced. I used a combo of Fuji and Granny Smith

juice from 1/2 a lemon
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 Tablespoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon all-spice
2 Tablespoons all-purpose flour

In a big bowl, add all of your filling ingredients and mix well to coat the apples. Set aside and let them sit for a few minutes.


Meanwhile, roll out half of your crust and put it in your pie pan.

Fill your crust with the apple mixture. Don’t forget all the juices that come out from letting them sit! Set aside.

Roll out the other half of your dough and either top your pie and cut out slits or, if you want a lattice crust, cut out strips. You don’t need a scalloped cutter to do this, you can just use a knife if you don’t have one.


To Lattice: Start out with all the strips in one direction, then fold back every other strip. Lay down one strip in the opposite direction. Fold the strips back over and fold back the other strips. Repeat, alternating strips, until the pie is complete.  If those instructions weren’t clear enough, you can watch a YouTube video like this one. (skip to the :35 mark).


Those little leaves are tiny cookie cutters. Totally optional, but adds a nice little touch.


Once the top crust is complete, bake in a 425 degree oven for 15 minutes. Then turn down the temperature to 350 and bake for another 35-45 minutes, until the crust is golden brown and the apples are soft.


If you feel like your crust is getting to dark, you can loosely cover with some foil until the baking is complete.


Now, just serve up a slice (or two) and grab some ice cream!

One thought on “Apple Pie

  1. Abby that pie looks amazing! My boyfriend overlooked me reading your post and said it looked great as well, you’d never know it was your first time considering how incredible and professional it looks! Save me a slice 😉 Lol ♡

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

