Grilled Salmon with Drunken Zucchini Noodles

We don’t generally eat a lot of fish around our house. There’s not really any particular reason for it, except that I’m always afraid I’m going to overcook it and it doesn’t really make for good leftovers (which is something I like to consider when making my meals).

When we do eat fish, the one we eat most often is salmon. It is definitely a favorite around here. Not only is it tasty, it is really REALLY good for you. A few years back a co-worker of mine passed on this recipe for the best salmon marinade and now it’s all I use. I’ve used it on other fish too and it’s so good. I’ve actually even used the same ingredients to make salmon burgers. It is really very all-purpose, but it is just plain ol’ delicious. My kids even like it and that’s saying something!

I tend to just eyeball it at this point since I’ve made it so often, but the actual recipe follows:
2 tablespoons dijon mustard

3 tablespoons soy sauce

6 tablespoons olive oil

minced garlic

In a ziplock bag, add your salmon filet(s). I had 3 filets about 3oz each. Mix together all the ingredients and pour into the bag. Or you can do what I did and put each ingredient into the bag and then mix it in there so you don’t have to wash another dish.


Let it sit while you bring your grill up to temperature. When the grill is ready, just cook for about 3-4 minutes on each side until done. You can also make this under the broiler, but I like the flavor grilling it gives the salmon.

For this particular dinner, I pulled out my new Spiralizer and made some yummy zucchini noodles. It took me a couple tries to figure out the best way to use the machine, but once I got it, it was actually really easy and now I can’t wait to see what else I can spiralize!! This recipe is actually a lightened up version of some noodles I found on another blog (sorry, I forgot to write it down!). It was really good and had a lot of flavor. Plus, it was really healthy!

1 large zucchini

Half a leek, chopped

1-2 cloves minced garlic, depending on how garlicky you like it

Olive oil

¼ cup vodka (optional, I suppose. You could use white wine if you want, or even chicken broth. The alcohol will cook off.)

Juice of one lemon

Zest of the same lemon

Salt and pepper

¼ cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt

Spiralize your zucchini. If you don’t have a spiralizer or you don’t like zucchini or whatever, you can always just make up a batch of spaghetti and then make the sauce the same way.

 

In a skillet over medium heat, add the olive oil, leeks, garlic and zoodles. Season with a pinch of salt and pepper. Let cook until the zoodles begin to soften.

 

Add vodka and lemon juice. Let it cook a little longer until the liquid is reduced and the alcohol is cooked out. The zoodles should be soft, but not mushy.

 

Turn off the heat and add the yogurt. This is important to do off the heat so the yogurt doesn’t separate and get gross.


Top with lemon zest and serve.

One thought on “Grilled Salmon with Drunken Zucchini Noodles

Leave a Reply

