Chocolate Peanut Butter Coconut Milk Ice Cream

I have a friend from high school who is now the owner of a very successful bakery. Seriously, her stuff is amazing. If I were her, I’d probably weigh about 1000 pounds just from samples of her dreamy cookies and cupcakes. Which is probably why she’s such a health nut.

It’s really funny, actually, because even though she runs a bakery, she is so in tuned to her and her family’s health. Her Instagram photos from her bakery account are chock full of cupcakes and cookies and chocolate and frosting and mini pies and sweets galore. Her personal Instagram is chock full of her cute kids and all the healthy, organic, good-for-you foods you can imagine. It’s quite the dichotomy. 

The food she makes always looks so yummy, so I try to remember and make mental notes. She recently posted about making chocolate peanut butter ice cream from an organic food blog she reads. That was all I needed to hear. Chocolate and Peanut Butter? Ice cream? And, knowing my friend, good for you? I’m in. 

I finally had a free afternoon, so I decided to try a couple new recipes I’d been eyeing: honey roasted chickpeas and this ice cream. The roasted chickpeas were a total bust. I thought they were going to turn out a lot different than they did and I just really didn’t like the texture. So, sorry, no crispy chickpea recipe from me. But then I made this ice cream, which was super easy and turned out SOOOOO Good!! And my kids loved it! 

You will need an ice cream maker for this recipe, but even if you don’t have one, you should think about getting one. They have lots of varieties that run the size and price range gamut. Homemade ice cream just blows the store-bought stuff out of the water. It had been awhile since I’d made some myself, and doing this made me want to make it more often. Plus, it’s a lot of fun for the kids. They love watching it come together.

This recipe is adapted from Deliciously Organic 

1 can coconut milk (I used lite, but I’ll bet if you used full fat, it would be even creamier)

¼ cup cocoa powder

½ cup honey

½ cup smooth peanut butter (I used the all-natural kind)

In a saucepan, mix together the coconut milk, cocoa powder, and honey over medium heat until combined well and the mixture comes to a simmer.

Remove from heat and add ½ of the peanut butter. Mix into the coconut milk mixture until well combined.  


Place a fine mesh strainer over a bowl and pour the mixture through it into a bowl. Cover the bowl tightly and put in the fridge for about 2 hours.

When ready, freeze the mixture according to your ice cream maker’s instructions. This wasn’t in the recipe, but while the ice cream was mixing and getting thick and ice creamy, I drizzled in the rest of the peanut butter in an attempt to get a peanut butter swirl in the final product. I think I put it in too soon because it just ended up getting mixed into the ice cream, so it was delicious, but not swirly.

If you choose not to do this, just add all the peanut butter at the same time in the earlier step.

Pour the finished ice cream into a container and let it set up in the freezer for about an hour or so before serving. It will still be soft.

The kiddos LOVED it!

If you are going to serve it the next day, I would suggest taking it out of the freezer for a little bit before you plan on serving it because it will get hard. Based on the texture from it being in the freezer overnight, I would think this mixture would make excellent popsicles.

Leave a Reply

