Roasted Butternut Squash and Brussels Sprouts with Cranberries in a Honey Dijon Vinaigrette

Ah, the poor, misunderstood Brussels Sprout. Growing up, my only knowledge of the little veggie was that it was gross. Why? Because that’s what TV shows and movies told me. Brussels Sprouts were always the example used when someone needed to make a point about a food that no one liked, especially kids. Because of this, I think it was given a really bad rap and may have grounds for some sort of libel suit.

You know, if it were not a vegetable.

I guess I sort of understand why people might not like Brussels sprouts. On their own, they aren’t the greatest. Even just boiled, they are pretty much blah. They are a bitter little cabbage that needs a lot of help to be palatable. Fortunately, that “help” comes in the form of very easy to prepare dishes that turn out delicious! A simple roast or pan fry and you’ve got yourself a yummy side dish. Add extras like bacon and cranberries and take them over the top.

Brussels sprouts are also highly nutritious, loaded with lots of vitamins like C, K, and B1; are high in folate, manganese, dietary fiber, and omega-3s.

Unfortunately, try as I might, I tend to be the lone Brussels sprouts fan in our house. The kids won’t give them a chance and my hubby doesn’t like the texture. That being said, he did like these sprouts. I roasted them a lot longer than I usually do, so the core was a lot softer than usual. He said that was much better, but he’s still not super gung-ho about them.

Oh, well. More for me, right?

This recipe was really easy and so tasty. I could eat this every day. Caramelized veggies are always good and the dressing was a tiny bit tangy and a tiny bit sweet for a really scrumptious combo. 

I know it’s July, but I think this would actually make a really good Thanksgiving or Christmas side dish (I’ve been watching a lot of the Hallmark Channel Christmas Movie Preview Week so I’m feeling rather festive lately! Anyone wanna come help me put up my tree??)

I initially found this on Pinterest and then made a few changes of my own. I didn’t add any nuts to this version, but I think throwing in a handful of walnuts or pecans towards the end of the roasting time would be a really yummy addition.

Please keep in mind that I only made enough for myself, so any measurements listed are really guesses. I did a lot of eyeballing. You can find the full recipe HERE. I swapped out the rice wine vinegar for apple cider vinegar and added a touch of honey for the dressing. It was yum, yum, yum! Like I said, I could have this as a side dish all the time.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts & Butternut Squash with Dried Cranberries and Honey Dijon dressing

Adapted from A Beautiful Plate

Brussels sprouts, halved

1 cup cubed butternut squash

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

Salt and pepper

¼ cup dried cranberries

For the dressing (approx. measurements):

1 tablespoon Dijon mustard

1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

1 teaspoon honey

Place the veggies on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Toss to coat and make sure the veggies are in a single layer. A good tip is to put the sprouts cut-side down so they caramelize a little better.

Roast at 450 for about 20-30 minutes. During the last 5 or so minutes of roasting, add your cranberries.


Meanwhile, in the bowl you are going to serve the veggies in, whisk together your dressing ingredients. You can add more salt and pepper here, but since they are already on the veggies, I opted not to. People can always add more at the table if they want.

When the veggies are done, add them to the bowl with the dressing and toss to coat.


Serve and become a sprouts fan for life.

Leave a Reply

