Italian Love Cake 

I first saw this cake on Valerie Bertinelli’s cooking show on Food Network. It looked really good when she made it, so I saved the recipe to my Pinterest board and then, as with most Pinterest pins, promptly forgot all about it. 

When it came time to make a meal for my friends who just had their baby, I found myself going with an Italian theme (lasagna, Caesar salad, garlic bread). I wanted to make dessert too and randomly this cake popped into my head. 

Valerie called it “Sicilian Love Cake” on her show so I thought “Perfect. An Italian cake to go with the Italian dinner!” Well, when I Googled “Sicilian Love Cake” all I got was Valerie’s recipe. I did find a few others for “Italian Love Cake” so I assumed that she just tweaked the name a little because she’s Sicilian. I changed my Google search accordingly and as it turns out, there is no real reason why this cake is called Italian Love Cake. It just is. Maybe because of the ricotta and mascarpone? Italian cheeses = Italian cake? 

That reminds me of a funny-ish story. Growing up, my mom used to make these things called Tamale Buns. They were a recipe from her grandmother and they are delicious. They sound really weird and you will think I’m completely off my rocker, but I promise they are really good: It’s dinner rolls carved out into little vessels. The filling is a mix of tomato soup, corn kernels, diced green chiles, chopped hard-boiled egg, and cheese. This is all baked in the oven. I know, I know. Report me to the foodie police, it sounds bizarre, but I promise it’s good. Anyway, the point of me bringing it up is that apparently, my great grandmother, being the small-town Utah woman she was, called them Tamale buns because they had green chiles in them. Chiles = Mexican = Tamales. Insert eye roll here. That’s what I thought of when I read why this cake is called Italian Love cake. 

Italian cheese = Italian cake

Green chiles = Mexican meal 

All settled on how that works? Good. 

This cake is really simple and it looked really yummy. Since I was giving it to friends, I couldn’t have a piece myself, but I did lick the spatula when I made the frosting, and OMG!!!! You guys, it was heavenly. I think it may be my new go-to chocolate frosting for anything. Cookies, cakes, eating off the spoon. Anything.

Sicilian Love Cake by Valerie Bertinelli

As found on FoodNetwork.com 

CAKE:

1 box chocolate cake mix, plus the ingredients called for in the directions 

MASCARPONE-RICOTTA FILLING 

28 oz ricotta cheese

4 oz mascarpone

3 eggs

¾ cup sugar

1/8 teaspoon salt 

COCOA-MASCARPONE FROSTING 

10 oz mascarpone

1 cup whole milk (I used 2%)

1 box instant chocolate pudding mix (3.9 oz)

1 tablespoon sugar

Preheat the oven according the directions on the cake mix. Prep the cake batter according the directions on the box and pour into a greased 9×13 baking dish. Set aside. (Don’t bake it yet).

Make the filling: Combine the ricotta, mascarpone, eggs, sugar, and salt in a mixer and whisk until smooth. Gently pour the filling onto the top of the chocolate cake batter so the top is completely white. Maybe I didn’t do mine “gently” enough, but the top of my cake batter was not completely white. Not even close. The idea is when you bake the cake, the cheese filling settles to the bottom and make a layer. According to my friends who ate it, it worked, so I guess it was fine how I did it.

Bake the cake until a skewer inserted in the center comes out clean and the chocolate layer has risen to the top, about 50-60 minutes. Let the cake cool completely.

Make the frosting: Whisk together the mascarpone, milk, chocolate pudding mix, and sugar until smooth. Using an offset spatula, spread the frosting evenly over the cake and serve.

Again, I’m sorry I don’t have a final picture of the cake showing the layers, but I was told this one was delicious too! There is a nice photo on the Food Network site though!

And take my word for it… make a little extra frosting!

3 thoughts on “Italian Love Cake 

Leave a Reply

