Slim Down: Week 4

So there was a bit of a delay in this week’s post. If you noticed, sorry about that. If not, then, you should be fine. :0) I tend to type these posts up in spurts of downtime at work and I was not feeling well Wednesday or Friday so I didn’t have anything I’d already written and I really didn’t want to re-write anything. Better late than never, right?
I’m really starting to notice the weight loss in myself. The way my clothes are fitting, how I feel when I sit or lay down… there’s just less of me and that’s a good thing. I also feel healthier. The working out and the vegetables that were missing before are really making a difference.


I’ve also noticed that when I do cheat, it’s easier to only cheat a little and it doesn’t completely ruin all my hard work. One night, my hubby and I went to celebrate losing 10 pounds each and we split our favorite cheeseburger. Because of the portion control we’ve been experiencing, I was perfectly content with only half of the burger (it is a big burger). I was only up .2 pounds the next morning and it quickly melted off by the day after that.

Also, this past weekend, a friend and I went to see The Little Mermaid concert at The Hollywood Bowl (so, ridiculously amazing, but that’s another post for another time), and we picnicked with a group of people. I didn’t eat terribly, but it was definitely not in the Nutrisystem plan. The next morning I weighed in and I had maintained my weight.

Progress report: 4.6 lbs lost this week* for a total of 12.4 lbs lost since May 1. (*Well, a week plus a few days…)

Breakfast:

  • Oatmeal Cranberry Bites: I really liked these! They were really delicious! At first I didn’t think there’d be enough, but I felt like it was a good breakfast.


Dinner:

  • Meatballs in Tomato Sauce: The package calls this “spicy” tomato sauce, but it wasn’t spicy at all. It tasted like regular marinara sauce. That being said, this was very good. I made some spaghetti squash to go with it (since it is part of the unlimited veggies) and it made for a really good meal. Oh! About the spaghetti squash: I’ve always roasted my spaghetti squash. You know, cut it half, scoop out the seeds, drizzle with olive oil and salt and pepper, put it the oven. I don’t really like doing it this way because 1. Cutting uncooked hard squash (like spaghetti or butternut, for example) terrifies me. I swear, I’m going to stab myself one of these days; and 2. I never felt that the cooked squash was really a good noodle substitute. The squash remained a bit crunchy.


Well, all that changed when I made this, dear readers. Are you ready for this? I used my slow cooker!! I know, I know… I’m probably really late to the party on this one, but let’s just pretend I’m not and I just blew your mind with this amazing kitchen discovery. Deal? It was perfect. All you have to do is poke some holes all over the squash (no stabbing threat!), put it in the slow cooker with 1-1/2 cups of water, and cook for 5-6 hours on low. You cut it in half after it is cooked (much easier) and the squash inside was so soft! It was life-changing I tell ya.

  • Turkey medallions with mashed potatoes: This was really, really good. I loved it. The turkey was good. The gravy was good. Even the mashed potatoes were good. I made some veggies to go with it and it was a really filling meal. I’m definitely adding more of these for future orders.


Dessert:

  • Cheesecake Bar: Not bad! A lot of these bars I find to be good flavor-wise, but really chewy. Like, my-jaw-hurts-when-I’m-done-with-it chewy. This was soft and creamy in the middle and actually did taste like cheesecake. Two thumbs up!
  • Chocolate cupcake: Really good. It was almost like a Hostess cupcake, but without the cream filling. The only thing I didn’t like about it is that it was frozen and you just have to let it sit out to thaw. Usually when I’m ready for my dessert, I’ve just been grabbing it and eating it. If I had known, I would have taken it out of the freezer sooner, but it didn’t take too long to thaw, so it wasn’t that bad. Just good to know for next time.

  • Apple pie: One my guiltiest of guilty pleasures for food are those little handheld pies you get at the grocery store for, like, 50 cents and they never expire. You know what I’m talking about, right? This was a healthier version of one of those. I would have liked a little more of the apple filling—and maybe a scoop of vanilla ice cream—but it was really good.
One thought on “Slim Down: Week 4

Leave a Reply

