Roasted Veggie Pita

One of the things that really attracted me to Nutrisystem was the fact that it would still allow me to get in the kitchen and create. I love food and the kitchen is one of my happy places. Being a full-time working mom with lots of extracurricular activities for the kids and my own stuff going on, it can get kind of hectic. I find cooking and creating food dishes in the kitchen to be a peaceful experience. 
 

If I had to do a diet plan that didn’t allow me to have that outlet, I would never stick with it. Nutrisystem lets me have that still. In fact, it’s encouraged. One lunch and one dinner a week should be a flex meal. They provide a blanket instruction on what should be incorporated, therefore teaching you how you should be eating.

Since doing this plan, I’ve sort of become obsessed with roasted veggies. When you roast them, they bring out so much great flavor you never knew was there. Just a little olive oil or zero calorie cooking spray, a sprinkle of garlic salt, and– if you are feeling indulgent– some parmesan cheese, and 20 minutes later, you’ve got yourself a pan of deliciousness.

I made this pita pocket for one of my flex lunches and it was so good. My hubby even loved it and he’s a major meat and potatoes guy. It was really easy too.

On a sheet pan, roast your veggies. I did red bell peppers, zucchini, and carrots. Spray with cooking spray or use a little bit of olive oil (only about 1-2 tablespoons). Sprinkle lightly with garlic salt.


Roast in a 400 degree oven for about 20-25 minutes. Set aside and let cool slightly. You still want them warm, but you don’t want to burn yourself.

 

Cut a whole wheat pita in half. Fill the inside with some lettuce and warm veggies. Top with some Tzatziki sauce and serve.

On the nutrisystem plan, this counts as one Power Fuel (the tzatziki sauce) and one Smart Carb (the whole wheat pita). The veggies are free.


I would totally eat this even if I weren’t on a diet plan!! It was really so good!

3 thoughts on “Roasted Veggie Pita

  1. Pingback: Buffalo Cauliflower | Food on the Table

Leave a Reply

