Slim Down: Week 2

I knew it!! Week 2 was soooo much better than week 1. I actually get to eat real food along with my Nutrisystem stuff, so I’m not hungry all day long. And the frozen foods are WAAAAAYYYYY better than the shelf-stable stuff. If anyone decides to do this plan, pay the extra few dollars and get the plan that allows the freezer foods because you will be much happier. I mean, some of the shelf-stable stuff is still good, but so far what I’ve had is just a bit ‘eh’ for me. Maybe that will change since the only shelf-stable stuff I’ve had is from the Turbo Takedown box and it wasn’t necessarily things I had chosen. 

Before I move on to the food for this week, I feel like I need to give a special shout out to the desserts here. Who would have thought a diet plan—any diet plan—would have desserts on the menu? And these ones are actually good. No seriously. Really good. This is my favorite part of the whole thing because my sweet tooth is larger than I am and I am powerless to stop it. I don’t know how they make these so good but still diet-friendly and maybe I don’t want to know, but keep ‘em coming.

Progress: 2.4 lbs lost this week for a total of 6.4 lbs lost since May 1.

Breakfast:

  • Turkey, Ham, and Cheese Omelette: Frozen eggs reheated? I was a bit leery, but then I remembered that I make frozen breakfast burritos with eggs and they are good, so relax, Abby, and eat your food! It was good! I added some hot sauce to mine because I was afraid it may be a bit bland, but it wasn’t at all. I didn’t really need it.

  • French toast: Mmmmm… French toast! I cooked it in the microwave and then popped it into the toaster to make sure the outside had a bit of a crisp to it. The inside was nice and soft. I couldn’t add syrup to it (well, I technically could. I am allowed 1 tablespoon of sugar-free maple syrup. Um, thanks but no thanks.) I did, however, use a few sprays of some 0 calorie butter spray. It wasn’t real butter, but it was close enough.

  • Buttermilk Waffles: Do you like Eggos? Me too! That’s pretty much what these are: Nutrisystem’s answer to Eggos. I’m supposed to get a “Power Fuel” with my breakfast, which I rarely do, but for this one I added a little bit of all-natural peanut butter.
  • Canadian-style Turkey Bacon, Egg, and Cheese Muffin: Sort of like an egg McMuffin at McDonalds, but with much less flavor. The packaging says that it is egg white, but they are yellow, so I’m guessing there’s some food coloring deception going on here. This wasn’t the greatest. It was very bland. Maybe it could benefit from some salsa or ketchup. I’ll try that next time and see what happens.


Lunch:

  • Broccoli & Cheese Melt: They have a few different kinds of these “melts” that are more-or-less Hot Pockets. The outside crust is a bit on the dry side, but not terrible. The broccoli cheese filling was surprisingly really good, though. I was expecting it to be just “fine.” I was expecting sort of limp broccoli and a fake cheese sauce, but it was actually pretty fresh tasting. The cheese seemed like real cheese and the broccoli was still tender-crisp.

  • Grilled Chicken Sandwich: This was about the size of my palm and comes plain. I thought it was going to be too small, but it was actually enough for me. I was able to add a slice of tomato and some green leaf lettuce (unlimited veggies) so it really tasted like a regular grilled chicken sandwich. I could have used an extra, like mayo, ketchup, or bbq sauce, if I wanted, but it didn’t really need it. Maybe another time just to shake things up a bit.

  • Pulled Pork with Sweet BBQ Sauce: I was a bit nervous about this because it is one of the shelf-stable meals, and really, how good could shelf-stable pulled pork be? Pretty good, actually. (Not quite as good as this, but I wouldn’t expect it to be!) The sauce was really yummy and the pork was nice and tender. It is supposed to be served on a whole grain roll, but I couldn’t find one with low enough calories, so I just bought some Trader Joe’s whole grain bread, toasted up a slice and serve the pulled pork over top, open-face. This was a surprisingly good lunch option and I even ordered extra for next month.
  • Hamburger: I will admit I am a big sucker for a really good cheeseburger. I LOVE Cheeseburgers, so my standards are pretty high. This wasn’t bad for what it was. I mean, it’s a diet-plan frozen burger…what do you want? It could have been really bad but it wasn’t. The patty was actually nice and thick and it wasn’t dried out. I added lettuce and tomato (I forgot the ketchup at home). It was more filling than I’d expected since it was so small, so overall, I was happy with this one.

  • White Cheddar Macaroni and Cheese: Oh you know the way to my heart, Nutrisystem. This was really good. I was worried at first because after it came out of the microwave, the noodles looked like they were WAY undercooked. But after leaving the container covered for about 5 minutes (like the directions say), it was perfect.
  • Cheesy Broccoli Rice: I liked this one, but it was a bit salty tasting and I wish there’d been more broccoli in it. It was a dry cup that you add water too, so I guess I could see why there wasn’t more broccoli. Maybe next time I’ll just bring some on the side and add it in myself. It’ll stretch the dish, too, because there wasn’t very much in there at all.


Dinner:

  • Chicken Enchiladas: Some might call this one an enchilada… some might call it a taquito masquerading as an enchilada because it was about the size of one. It was small, but tasty. The sauce was good, the chicken filling was very flavorful. There was a Spanish rice on the side that was just OK. The rice wasn’t soft like I like. It was actually sort of crunchy (i.e. undercooked) which is not how I like my rice (unless you are talking about mixing it with butter and marshmallows and calling a treat!). I would have almost rather had two of the tiny enchiladas and skipped the rice, but whatever.

  • Chicken and Bacon Ranch Pizza: OK, this was good. I mean, really good. I made mine in the oven (since I had it on anyway for the kids’ dinner), so the crust was perfectly crispy. For a microwave option, there was a little tray in the box that has some sort of silver lining on it which is meant to give your pizza a crispy crust in the microwave. I can’t yet attest to whether it works or not since I didn’t use it, but maybe I’ll try it on another pizza.

  • Stuffed Shells: I had high hopes for these, but they were just alright. That Parmesan roasted broccoli you see there was pretty dynamite, though, if I do say so myself.

  • BBQ Shredded Chicken: After how much I liked the pulled pork, I was optimistic about its poultry counterpart and I was not disappointed. The pork was a sweet BBQ while the chicken was more of a tangy/slightly spicy BBQ. It was good. I ordered extra of this for the next shipment.
  • Chicken Parmesan: This was really good. Some of these meals remind me a lot of Lean Cuisine meals (well, the way Lean Cuisine used to be. They changed something recently and not for the better) and this is one of them. I will definitely be adding more of these for future orders.

  • Broccoli Cheese Stuffed Chicken Breast: This was really good. I mean it. So good. Great flavor and the chicken wasn’t dried out at all, which is what I had expected. Like everything else, it isn’t a big portion—and it isn’t supposed to be—so I served it up with some roasted veggies, which I’ve become sort of obsessed with on this diet.


Dessert:

  • Fudge brownie: It didn’t look like much when I took it out of the package, but it was oh-so-good! It was moist and fudgy and tasted exactly like a fudge brownie should taste.
  • Chocolate Brownie Sundae cup: Any diet that lets me eat something called Chocolate Brownie Sundae is alright in my book. It was really yummy too. Mmmmmm…. Ice cream…. :0)

  • Chocolate cake: Very similar to the Fudge brownie, except more cake-like and a bit bigger. Delicious!
  • White Chocolate chip cookies: These were good, except the consistency can only be described as a bit stale. I don’t think they were stale, I just think that however they are made to be “healthier” made for a more chewy/dense cookie.
  • Chocolate chip cookies: Same as the White Chocolate chip cookies.
Leave a Reply

