Copycat Starbucks Thai Peanut Chicken Wrap 

Back in college, when I was a Starbucks barista, our RTE and bakery case had a nice selection of goodies. Over the years since my time with the ‘Bux, they have definitely expanded and improved their selection. Whether it’s a baked good to compliment your coffee or one of their sandwiches or protein boxes for lunch, they have upped their game significantly since I worked there.
I recently stopped by Starbucks on my way into work and noticed they offered a Thai Peanut Chicken wrap. It looked really good. I was in a bit of a hurry, so I didn’t grab one, but I was intrigued enough to decide to try to make it myself.

The other night, the hubby was out so I decided to do some kitchen experimenting. I only had the description on the package to go by, not a recipe, so I bought the ingredients I thought I’d need and went to town.

The result? Not bad at all! I want to play with the veggie part a bit because something seemed to be missing, but all in all it was really good! And fairly healthy too, so you can’t beat that. Fact: if you call it a wrap instead of a burrito, it’s healthier.

I made one for dinner and one for my lunch the next day at work. I wasn’t sure if the pre-made wrap would hold up, but it did. It was actually a bit better the next day. Maybe all the flavors hanging out all night in the fridge got all happy and even more delicious.

It seems like a lot of steps because you have to make all the components separately before you build the wrap, but it is actually really easy and comes together quickly.

Ginger Cream Cheese:

4 oz softened cream cheese (I used low fat)

1 teaspoon ground ginger

Chili lime slaw:

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 ½ teaspoons chili powder

Zest of ½ lime

Juice of whole lime

1 package shredded lettuce

Carrots, sliced thin

Handful of peanuts, chopped

Red bell pepper, sliced thin

Salt and pepper to taste

Cooked chicken (grilled, poached, baked, roasted, a $5 one from the grocery store… doesn’t really matter)

This peanut sauce

Tortillas (Starbucks uses the red tortillas, which I think are sun dried tomato. I couldn’t find those, so I used the spinach ones)

In a small bowl, mix together the cream cheese and ginger. If you like it more gingery, add more. If you don’t like ginger that much, add less. Set aside.

In another bowl, add the olive oil, chili powder, lime zest, and lime juice. Whisk together.

Add the lettuce, carrots, bell pepper, and peanuts and toss with the dressing. Set aside.

Make your peanut sauce.

Chop up your cooked chicken into small pieces.

 Assemble:

Spread a layer of the ginger cream cheese on the tortilla.
Top with the chicken and pour some peanut sauce on top to blend in with the chicken. Or you could make life so much easier and put the chicken in a bowl with some of the peanut sauce so it’s already mixed together. Next time I will do that.

Top the chicken with the veggie mixture.

Wrap and enjoy. Serve with a little extra peanut sauce on the side.

Like I said, it was actually better the next day, so maybe even letting all the ingredients sit for a while before assembling would be good. If you try this and add something that makes it pop, I’d love to know what you did. It was really good, but I think it could have used a little something I can’t quite put my finger on.

10 thoughts on “Copycat Starbucks Thai Peanut Chicken Wrap 

  1. It is coconut thats what you cannot put your finger on. Its in the peanut sauce. Use real fresh ginger. Add sugar to the ginger cream cheese and vinegar.

    Like

  2. You mentioned lettuce in your recipe, but I’d rather have cabbage any day – healthier and more punch to the flavor. Love the other suggestions as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

