Crispy Lemon Chicken 

Fried chicken has to be one of my all-time favorite foods. When it’s done right, of course. Which is why I don’t make fried chicken. 

Can I confess something? This is a safe place, right? I know how to make fried chicken. I can walk you through the steps and tell you everything you need to know about fried chicken. I just have a difficult time actually putting my direction into practice. 

Here’s a confession to my confession: I’ve only actually tried making fried chicken myself twice. And it has been a really long time. But both those times really did a number on my fried chicken confidence and I have been scared to try again ever since. 

After having the world’s best fried chicken in New Orleans and knowing that that this the only place you can get that particular chicken, I feel like I will have to get over my fears and try again. OK. I’ll say it here and now… New Foodie Goal: Make fried chicken! 

In the meantime, I’ll stick with this easier version. Really, it is fool-proof. And it’s delicious. I make this a lot because it is the perfect weeknight meal. You can pair it with anything you want and change up the flavors however you want. 

It’s nothing fancy. It is more-or-less a chicken schnitzel, which is just a thin piece of meat, coated in breadcrumbs, and fried.

Feel free to change up some of the flavors if you want: garlic, spice, etc.

2 chicken breasts, cut in half lengthwise 

2 eggs

2 cups panko 

Zest of one lemon

Salt and pepper to taste

Juice of one lemon 

In a bowl, combine the panko, lemon zest and some salt and pepper.

  

Set up your dredging station and dip each chicken piece into the egg then breadcrumbs.

  

In a skillet with a few tablespoons of olive oil over medium heat, add your breaded chicken and cook until crispy and golden brown, about 5-6 minutes on each side.
  

When the chicken is done, remove to a plate and squeeze a bit of lemon juice over the top.

  

Serve with a salad or potatoes or whatever your favorite side is. 
 

Leave a Reply

