Chinese Chicken Salad 

There’s this little café in my office building that makes pretty decent food for relatively cheap. Plus, it’s really convenient. 

I usually only get the same few things there, but recently I had their Chinese Chicken Salad. You guys! It was really, really good! I already like Chinese Chicken Salad, but I’ve had it where it was just sort of blah. This was not blah! It was delicious!

 

I wanted to try to recreate it at home, but I sort of opted against a direct recreation. Being the junk food lover that I am, the fact that I view a salad as a treat is a good thing. I think I’ll leave this particular recipe to the pros.

 

I did end up creating my own version of a Chinese chicken salad using my leftover teriyaki chicken. It may not be quite as good as the one from the café, but it was still quite tasty, if I do say so myself.

 

This is what I put in mine, but feel free to riff on your own with what you like: 

Lettuce

Carrots

cucumbers

Prepared teriyaki chicken

Sliced water chestnuts

Mandarin orange segments (from the can)

Fried wonton wrapper, cut in slices (or I think you can buy them in the produce section already crispy)

Chinese chicken salad dressing*

Other optional ingredients that would be good: sesame seeds, sliced almonds, green onion, baby corn, bell peppers, crunchy chow mein noodles (those are soooo good! I could eat the whole package by itself!)

 

*I used Joey D’s brand. My friend at work uses Soy Vay. The café using a sesame ginger dressing, which I’ve also seen in various brands at the store.  

Perfect use for my leftovers!


 

Mix everything together and enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

