Slow Cooker Teriyaki Chicken Bowls 

Growing up, my mom used to make teriyaki chicken a lot. I mean, really a lot. It sort of became a bit of a running joke in the family. It was good, but we just had it a lot. Now, my mom is and always has been an excellent cook and she definitely made other things, but we very often had teriyaki chicken. She would put the chicken in a baking dish, pour some Lawry’s Teriyaki marinade over top and bake in the oven. Serve with some veggies and bread and you’ve got yourself dinner.

Now that I am a busy working mom, I get why that was such a go-to meal for her. I mean, really, duh! Looking back, it is such a no-brainer. It fit all four major categories parents strive for in a meal: quick, easy, healthy, and delicious. When you’ve got a job, a house to maintain, and three kids all with different schedules and whatnot going on, you’re lucky to hit just “quick and easy” let alone, all four! 

Fast forward many years later to me cooking for my family and I’ve changed up my mom’s teriyaki chicken game a bit. In my opinion, it is still just as easy, healthy, and delicious. It’s not really quick, per se, because you use your slow cooker. But at the same time, because you are using a slow-cooker, you aren’t stuck in the kitchen the whole time. 

A little side note/kitchen tip before I start the recipe: I always have a supply of boneless, skinless chicken breasts in my freezer. You can get a pack of 24 at Costco for, like, $20. They have them at the regular grocery store too, but you don’t get as many and they cost more (not everything at Costco is a deal, but these are). For this recipe, you can use them frozen, but other times, I’ll just take a couple out of the freezer the night before or in the morning before I go to work, and then they are ready for me to use however I want for dinner that night.   

Now back to the recipe: 

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts frozen* (you can do this with thawed meat too, just adjust your cooking time)

1 bottle teriyaki sauce/marinade

¼ cup brown sugar

1 tablespoon honey

Broccoli

Carrots

3 tablespoons cornstarch

*2 may not seem like a lot, but trust me, when you shred it, add the veggies and serve with rice, you’ll get lot out of this. I would say at least 6 servings.

To your slow cooker, add the chicken, teriyaki sauce, brown sugar, and honey.

Cook on low for 4 hours or high for 6 to 7 hours.

In the last hour of cooking, add your veggies. This cooks the veggies, but also lets them keep a bit of their firmness. If you want them to be softer, cook them longer. 

  
When you add your veggies, you can also make a cornstarch slurry to thicken up the sauce a bit. Ladle out some of your cooking liquid, whisk in a few tablespoons of cornstarch. Add the slurry back into the slow cooker and stir around for a second. Put the lid back on and let it keep cooking.

When it’s done, serve the chicken and veggies over rice.

  

One thought on “Slow Cooker Teriyaki Chicken Bowls 

  1. Pingback: Chinese Chicken Salad  | Food on the Table

Leave a Reply

