Breakfast Burrito, Take 2

So, if you remember, back in July I posted a recipe for a somewhat healthy breakfast burrito. I still haven’t posted my favorite breakfast burrito that I make (not at all healthy), but here’s another one I came up with after being inspired by an airport breakfast burrito.

Yes, you read that right. An airport. The more I travel, the more I realize how crappy of an airport LAX is. I mean, I suppose it’s fine as far as airports go, but I’ve been places. I’ve seen what’s out there. LAX, you need to get it together. And I’m weird, I really like airports, so I have standards. 

*Note, the international terminal is pretty great. And they are doing a lot of construction, so they get points for trying. I’ll reserve further judgement until the construction is done. 

Now, moving on. Our flight to New Orleans left pretty early, so we got breakfast at the airport. They are doing a lot of construction in the Southwest terminal, so there weren’t too many food choices outside of the super packed food court right outside the security lines, but it looks like put in a Rock & Brews since the last time I flew, so we decided to have breakfast there. They had breakfast burritos that were surprisingly tasty. They had a lot of flavor and were actually decent size. Everything costs way more at the airport than anywhere else, so I was glad they made up for the cost with a decent portion. 

Those burritos are where I got the inspiration for this recipe. Like with my previous burritos, these are very freezer friendly and actually pretty healthy as-is. Of course you can make adjustments to your tastes.  

½ pound turkey breakfast sausage

1 can black beans, rinsed and drained

7 eggs

Milk

Low-fat mozzarella cheese (you can change this up if you want. Pepper jack would be delicious)

Salsa of your choice

Tortillas 

  
In a skillet over medium heat, brown your sausage and add your black beans. 

  
In a bowl, whisk your eggs and a big splash of milk together until combined. Add them to the skillet with the sausage and beans and stir around until cooked through. 

  
Add egg filling to your tortilla. Top with shredded cheese and some salsa. 

Done! Super easy. And really good.

  
I used the “soft taco” size tortilla and got 9 burritos out of this batch. They freeze really well, too. Like the other burritos, I just wrap them in foil and put them in a freezer ziptop bag. 

When ready to eat, just remove from the foil and put in the microwave for a couple minutes (2-3). Then I put them in a skillet for a minute or two. This step is optional. I do it because I find the tortillas get a little soggy on the outside and I’m a big texture person, so I like to crisp it up a bit. At work, I use the toaster oven since we don’t have a stove. 

It’s a nice change of pace from oatmeal and English muffins.

3 thoughts on “Breakfast Burrito, Take 2

Leave a Reply

