Dream Trip: New Orleans! 

I sometimes mention my “Travel Bucket List” when I talk about recipes from other countries. Well, next week, my husband and I are taking a trip to a place that has been on my Travel Bucket List for a LOOOOONG time: NEW ORLEANS!  
New Orleans, Lousiana. The Crescent City, The Big Easy, NOLA… You guys, I can’t even explain to you how excited I am for this trip. The history and culture of this town has always been a fascination of mine.
Since its initial founding by French colonists in the early 1700s, the area has been owned by France, Spain, and the U.S. through various treaties and purchases. The city’s heritage remains strong in the historical roots influenced by French and Spanish colonists, as well as the immigrants—Haitian, French Creole, African (free and slave), and other European countries—who settled in the area.
  
We are staying in the French Quarter (sometimes referred to as the Vieux Carré, pronounced “voo karay”), which is the oldest neighborhood in New Orleans. Our hotel is right in the middle of the action on Bourbon Street. We are only about a 5-7 minute walk from just about everything we want to do in the quarter. If not, we can take a street car anywhere that is farther away. 

  
We have plans to see St. Louis Cemetary #1 and hit up the Voodoo Museum. I’m also going to talk my husband into a haunted ghost/vampire tour! How awesome would that be? If we find any vampires, let’s hope they’re nice ones… Or at least nice-ish… 

Oh, Klaus…

 

I’m really looking forward to catching some live Jazz shows. I’ll be keeping my eyes peeled for a surprise appearance from local boy Harry Connick Jr., but with American Idol and all, I doubt he’ll be around.

*Swoon* HCJ is the bees knees, amiright?

 

Mostly, we are just going to walk around and see what sort of adventures we can find!
And the food! Oh, how I am looking forward to the food! Gumbo, Jambalaya, Po’Boys, Beignets. My mouth is practically watering just thinking about it. I already have a list of places I want to go to, knowing full well we don’t have time to go to all of them. It’s a good thing we are planning on walking a lot, because I have a feeling we are going to need it!
  
One of the coolest things we are planning on doing is going to a class at the New Orleans School of Cooking. I’ve made my fair share of Cajun and Creole cuisine at home, but I’m hoping to pick up a trick or two from the experts to up my game.
I’m going to miss my babies something fierce, but I am really looking forward to this trip! Stay tuned for a little review of my personal NOLA Foodie Tour!

Leave a Reply

