Slow Cooker Cranberry Roast

Pot roast is such a classic dish, right? I love a good pot roast. With the tender meat, the savory gravy, the roasted vegetables. And it’s perfect cold weather food, which despite what you may think, we do actually get some of here in Southern California! Like right now for example. The air is thick with fog and it is 66 degrees! Laugh all you want, but that’s cold here.

Anyway, a classic pot roast is an American variation on a French dish called boeuf a la mode (which does not mean “beef with ice cream” thank goodness) with German and Jewish immigrant influences. The French immigrants brought to the US a method of cooking called a l’etouffee or Braising. This method takes a typically tougher piece of meat and cooks it in a liquid low and slow to tenderize it. German immigrants to Pennsylvania brought over sauerbrauten, and Jewish immigrants had their own versions. America, being the melting pot that it is, borrowed from the immigrant cultures for what we consider classic pot roast, but they are all roughly the same: braised meat in a gravy-type sauce with vegetables.

I make pot roast somewhat often, but I have to confess that I’ve never made one in the oven! I always use my slow cooker. And why not? It always comes out perfect.

Like I mentioned before, I love a good traditional pot roast, but this one is made with a bit of a twist. Trust me, though, it’s a delicious twist! And it could not be easier. It’s only 3 ingredients!

3 pound roast (I’m not going to lie, I use whatever is cheapest in the meat department)

2 packages onion soup mix

1 can jellied cranberry sauce (not the kind with whole berries; the kind that still looks like the can when you take it out.)

img_8170
Put the roast in the slow cooker. Sprinkle the onion soup mix on top. Add the cranberry sauce.

img_8171
Cook on low 8-10 hours.

You will think that you need to add liquid, but you won’t. Trust me.

Serve with a side of whatever veggies you want. Normally with a pot roast, you cook the meat and the veggies together, but with the addition of the cranberry sauce, I haven’t done that with this recipe yet. I usually just make something separate

img_8173
 

Leave a Reply

