Jalapeno Popper Crescent Rolls

Once upon a time, there was a girl (me) who really couldn’t care less about football. It was fun to go the games on Friday nights in high school, but let’s be honest, I wasn’t watching the game. Well, maybe the tight ends… (Get it? See what I did there?) I have also been to a number of Super Bowl parties, but it was all about the food, the commercials, and the halftime show. And maybe those tight ends again.

Then I met the man who would become my husband. He was a big football fan, specifically the San Francisco 49ers. Being the good girlfriend I was, I learned a thing or two about the sport. It was likely just that: 1 or 2 things. Not necessarily important things either.

Then, in 2013, everything changed: I found myself with a team in my husband’s fantasy football league. How did I, someone who knows so very little about the sport, end up involved in this gridiron gang? I volunteered. The league was short two teams so I said I’d take one spot. You’re welcome, League.  I figured, what the heck, why not? I’ll draft some players (dibs on Peyton Manning!!) and just see where the season takes me. Now I’m the cool wife, right?

What I didn’t realize was how involved the whole thing would be! I only had a week from the time I joined to draft day, and there is prep time. Serious prep time.  My husband bought me a fantasy football magazine. Yes, there are whole magazines devoted to stats and analysis and mock drafts and lots and lots of contradictory opinions. He also gave me a list of all the players, ranked in order with potential scores and snippets of information about each one. It was overwhelming, to say the least.
In the days leading up to the draft, my dear husband tried to give me advice. I think it sunk in mostly, but I’m sure the deer-in-the-headlights look on my face never fully disappeared. I’m the sort of football fan that likes players, not necessarily teams (except the 49ers, which is pretty much a requirement to live in our house) so my husband had to make sure I knew not to draft players just because I like them. Cool dude does not always equal a good player.  I made my list of players I wanted and it looked something like this: Peyton Manning, Adrian Peterson, Calvin Johnson, Arian Foster.  If you aren’t familiar with the game, these guys are all like, the number 1 picks. The hubby looked at, tried to hold back his laugh and politely said, “You aren’t going to get all those players.”  I would like to point out now, after the fact, that that year, I did end up getting both Peyton Manning and Calvin Johnson.  I also finished that first season in 3rd place. I got first place the next year! I don’t want to talk about last year…
After that point, I was all in. I wasn’t about to just dip my toe in the Gatorade. No, sir. I dove right in. And inevitably, the football bug got me. I still don’t know nearly as much as my husband, but I must say, I hardly recognize myself sometimes when I talk about things like “waiver wire” and “down by contact” knowing the difference between a 3-4 and 4-3 defense.
92f89a9c6b753ad20cbf81df91e4b147

This is my life now.

So, now you know a bit of my football story. I never really got it before, but I love it now. So, on that note, let’s get to something I bringing to my brother-in-law’s Super Bowl party, because the food is still a huge part of the game!I made something with jalapenos earlier in the week and since I bought them at Trader Joe’s, I had to get a package of them since they don’t sell them individually. I figured out the perfect way to use them. These jalapeno popper-inspired crescent rolls:

3 medium sized jalapenos
2 strips of bacon
1 8oz tub or block of cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese2 tubes of crescent rolls

Over the flame on your stove, carefully char up the outsides of your jalapenos. Then add them to a ziplock bag and seal it, letting them steam for a few minutes. When they are cool enough to handle, take them out and rub the skins off.

img_8440img_8441img_8442
Open up the peppers and clear out the seeds. Dice the jalapenos up very small.

Chop up the bacon and crisp it up in a small skillet.

img_8443
In a bowl, add the jalapenos, bacon, cheese, and cream cheese. Mix until well combined.

img_8446
Roll out the crescent rolls and add a heaping spoonful of the mixture to the dough.  This is a tough balancing act, because you want enough filling to make them good, but you also want to make sure you don’t fill them too much or the filling will ooze out when you bake them.

img_8448

Roll up the rolls and place them on a baking sheet sprayed with non-stick spray (or lined with parchement, I was out of parchment).img_8449

Bake at 375 for about 10 minutes, until golden brown.

img_8454img_8455-1
Enjoy them rooting for your favorite team!

PS For the record, I think Cam Newton and the Panthers are going to pull this on off (I really like them all as a team), but I think it would be great to see Peyton Manning end his career with a Super Bowl win. Looks like I’ll be happy with either team winning which makes for a much less stressful watching experience! Here’s to a good game, gentlemen!

Leave a Reply

