No Recipe Donuts

I’ve seen this non-recipe for donuts going around for awhile now and I’ve always been curious.  I love donuts, so I was a bit skeptical about how they would turn. I mean, there is no way using biscuit dough would be as delicious as a donut.

Oh, I was so wrong, and I wish I had made this sooner so they could have been a part of my life for longer.

They are so super easy and, except for the frying in hot oil part, could be a fun project for the kids. It’d be a cool breakfast treat after a sleep over or even just a Saturday morning.

I took these to work with me and they were a way bigger hit than I even imagined they would be. They were obviously best right after I made them, with the crispy outside and soft, warm inside. But even the next day, they were still really good.

All you need is a pop can of biscuits, a small round biscuit or cookie cutter, and vegetable oil. I used just the regular buttermilk biscuits, so I don’t know what the result would be if you used some of the other varieties like extra butter or extra flaky.

Separate the biscuits and cut the hole out of the middle. Set each aside. You can fry up the donut holes too.

img_8349

Carefully, add the dough to the hot oil. It only takes about a minute or so on each side to get them cooked through and golden brown, so I would recommend having all the biscuits cut out ahead of time so you are ready to go for each batch. Place each donut on a wire rack to cool.

img_8351

I made two kinds: chocolate frosted and cinnamon-sugar. For the cinnamon-sugar, you have to work fast and carefully, because you need the donuts to be hot when you put on the cinnamon-sugar. I did them right after they came out of the oil (hence why you need to work fast and carefully).

img_8352

For the chocolate frosted, you can wait until they are cooled enough to handle. I just used regular canned chocolate frosting and put it in a bowl. Microwave for about 30 seconds and stir. Repeat until the frosting is melted. Dip the donuts into the frosting and place back on the rack. Add the sprinkles and let the frosting set.

img_8356img_8357img_8358

You can do all these same steps to make the donut holes too.  You can also top the donuts however you want. I see endless possiblities here!

img_8360

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

