Homemade Spinach Pasta 

If you remember, my hubby got me a pasta maker for Christmas. The first time I made pasta turned out pretty good, but not great. I think the problem was I left the fresh rigatoni in a pile and it stuck together. I also don’t think I cooked it long enough, so it was a bit chewy. My dough didn’t look quite right using the recipe from the instruction manual, but the flavor was good, so I don’t know what the exact problem was.I decided to give it another try, but this time I made spinach spaghetti. I used this recipe from Williams-Sonoma as a guide. Since this recipe was for a different type of pasta maker, I just used the dough, but not the steps that followed. Even if you don’t have a pasta maker, I think you could probably still use this recipe. Just make sure your dough is rolled out thin enough and then cut it out how you want.

I admit I was a little bit concerned about how this would taste. It uses a pound of spinach and I was afraid it would taste too spinachy. My fears were totally unfounded. This pasta was so good! It wasn’t too spinachy at all, it tasted great and I let it cook a lot longer than the rigatoni, so it wasn’t chewy at all. The only problem was I let it get stuck together. I made little piles of the pasta as it was coming out of the machine. Literally, the only reason I did this was because that’s how Aziz Ansari made his pasta on Master of None and I thought that was a thing to do with fresh spaghetti. Either I did it wrong or I should not take lessons about pasta making from a comedian. I think I did it wrong, though, because I just Googled “fresh spaghetti” and there are lot of little spaghetti nests out there.

Fresh Spinach Spaghetti

1 pound fresh spinach, stems removed
2 eggs
3 cups all-purpose flour


In a large skillet, add the spinach and cover. Let it cook for about 3 or so minutes until wilted down. It will look like a lot at first, but when it wilts down, it will be just over a handful.

Put the spinach in a sieve and run cold water over. When it is cool enough to handle, ring it out in a towel until mostly dry.


Add the spinach to a blender or food processor with one egg and blend until combined.


 On a cutting board, pile up your flour and make a crater inside. To the crater, add your spinach mix and the second egg (slightly beaten). Using either a fork or your hands (I used my hands), mix the egg and spinach into the flour until well combined, working the ingredients into a solid dough.



If using a pasta machine, follow the manufacturer’s instructions for making the pasta of your choice. If not, roll out the dough and make the pasta shape of your choice.


I served mine with a chicken and veggie stir fry in a Thai peanut sauce and it was really such a delicious and healthy meal. I will absolutely be adding this to our arsenal!

7 thoughts on “Homemade Spinach Pasta 

  1. Pingback: Thai Peanut Chicken Stir Fry  | Food on the Table

  2. Pingback: Thai Peanut Chicken Stir Fry  | Food on the Table

  3. Looks really nice. I would love to try and make my own pasta, but all the recipes say you need to use eggs and I can’t eat them 😦 do you reckon this would work without egg or with an egg substitute?

    Like

    • I’m pretty sure you could do it without egg. I’ve come across a few eggless pasta recipes that call for flour, a little salt, and water and you just work the water into the flour until the dough forms. I think Mario Batali has a good one. Not sure about the spinach. I guess you could just use a little water to make the spinach purée. I’ve never used egg substitute so I don’t know about that. If you try it, I would love to hear how it turns out!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Spaghetti Carbonara  | Food on the Table

Leave a Reply

