Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie 

My sweet tooth will be my downfall, dear readers. If there is any candy or chocolate or cookies lying around, I’ll definitely be sneaking nibbles here and there… and here again. Ice cream in the freezer? Forget about it. It’s a wonder I’m not a 500-pound diabetic.

My husband, however, is the opposite. As far as sweets are concerned, he can take ‘em or leave ‘em. He’ll have a bite or two every so often, but his self-control is admirable. And possibly inhuman. I’ll have to check into that.

Since I love sweets and I love to bake, him not really caring one way or the other makes it a bit difficult when I want to make something. Sure the kids can have some too, but I don’t want them scarfing down sweets all the time. Usually, it means my co-workers benefit. I make sweet things, leave them in the breakroom and watch them disappear. Nothing goes to waste and I get my fix of both eating the sweets and making them.

That being said, I did not take this pie to work. It stayed in my fridge while I took bites out of it here and there… and here again. It was so good. Like really, so good. You know what, just try it for yourself. You’ll see. But don’t say I didn’t warn you…

Chocolate cookie crust (you can make your own, but I bought mine. Still amazing.)
1 cup heavy whipping cream
1 ½ cups creamy peanut butter
1 8 oz block of cream cheese, softened
¾ cup powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

In a chilled bowl, beat the whipping cream until stiff peaks form. Remove it from the bowl and set it aside.

Back in the mixer, combine the cream cheese, peanut butter, powdered sugar, and vanilla until combined and creamy.

Gently fold the whipped cream into the peanut butter mixture. It will now be almost like peanut butter mousse. In fact, that is what it will be called going forward because doesn’t that sound marvelous?!

Pour the peanut butter mousse into the prepared pie crust and smooth out.

Put it in the fridge to set up for about 30 minutes or so.

Now, at this point, I melted half a bag of chocolate chips and poured it over the top. This was big mistake and I felt it as soon as I poured the chocolate. What I should have done was heat up some heavy cream and add some chocolate chips and make a ganache.

How I did it, ended up with a thick, hard, chocolate shell that made it difficult to cut and was way too rich. After the chocolate hardened, I ended up just removing the shell. I just popped right off.

You can always drizzle chocolate over the top or make a real ganache, but honestly, the pie was better after I took the chocolate off the top. The peanut butter mousse filling was heavenly and the chocolate crust was plenty of chocolate to complement the peanut butter.

I’m thinking this mousse would make a really good cake filling too. Or you know, just in a bowl with a spoon….

Leave a Reply

