Bacon Wrapped Shrimp 

Ah, New Year’s Eve. It’s a young man’s game, and while there was a time when I looked forward to getting all dressed up and going out, that time for me has passed.

Don’t get me wrong; I still love to get dressed up and go out, but just not on NYE. There are always way too many people, it’s freezing (even by SoCal standards), and everything is always overpriced.

The last few years, my husband and I have just stayed at home and still had a great time. The kids are in bed by 8:00 and we put on our jammies, watch movies, pour ourselves a cocktail (or two… or three…) and have a great time. We always turn on the Times Square coverage and watch Ryan Seacrest welcome us into the new year, but we are usually in bed shortly after that.

Every time I watch the people in Times Square, it just makes me tired. Those poor people are standing out in the cold from 8:00 am until well past midnight. You can’t leave for anything. You are stuck there all day long. That really does not sound like fun to me. And in other “How Old Are You Again?” news, I had absolutely no idea who most of the singers who were doing the concerts were. Carrie Underwood? Check? Pentatonix? You got it! But not too many more than that. We saw a bit of the concert done by Jimmy Buffet and our immediate reaction was “That’s where we would be!” First of all, who doesn’t love Jimmy Buffet? Cheeseburger in Paradise, amiright?! Second, they were inside, warm, WITH SEATS… and BATHROOM ACCESS!!

There are two ways to do NYE in NYC: That Jimmy Buffet concert, or pay thousands of dollars to get a nice hotel room with a balcony overlooking Times Square. Not down in the thick of it all, I don’t care what Jenny McCarthy says.

Since we stay in, another tradition that has developed is I try to make a nice dinner. I couldn’t decide what specifically to make this year, so we had a bit of a seafood sampler. It was super delicious. We thought about adding a steak and making it a surf and turf, but I’m glad we didn’t because I was STUFFED after eating all the food. We headed over to Bristol Farms and picked up some lobster tails, crab cakes, shrimp, and asparagus (because you gotta have a veggie!). I just boiled the lobster and seared the crab cakes, but for the shrimp, oh baby, I wrapped it in bacon and it was heavenly. And really easy!

½ pound jumbo shrimp, peeled and deveined, tails off
bacon, cut in half (my ½ pound of shrimp gave me 10 shrimp, so I used 5 pieces of bacon since you half a slice on each shrimp. Just do the math for however many shrimp you get)
¼ cup brown sugar
½ teaspoon cayenne pepper

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Wrap ½ piece of bacon around each shrimp. You can secure with a toothpick, but I didn’t feel like I needed to. Lay them out on the baking sheet.

In a bowl, combine the brown sugar and cayenne pepper. Rub a little bit on each side of each shrimp.

Bake at 450 for about 15 minutes, turning halfway. (I actually forgot to flip mine at the halfway point and they were fine. The bottom bacon wasn’t quite as crispy as the top, but it was still fine.)

These were so good! They were a little sweet, a little salty, with just a hint of spice from the cayenne. These would be perfect for a cocktail party appetizer!

I hope you are all have a great New Year so far!

img_8099

I don’t know why this photo won’t upload the right way, but sideways photo or not, the bacon wrapped shrimp was out of this world.

Leave a Reply

