Garlic Knots 

For months I had been not-so-subtly hinting to my husband that I wanted a new slow cooker. A nice one. One bigger than I have already, with a timer and an insert that you can use on the stovetop. The one I had my eye on was way too expensive to just buy, so it would have to be a Christmas present. When Christmas rolled around, I just knew my husband had come through for me. He had it delivered to his mom’s house and I saw the big box from Williams-Sonoma in her living room. There it was. The slow cooker that dreams are made of. I had to pretend it wasn’t there every day when I picked up my daughter.

A few days before Christmas, my husband said he was going to his mom’s house to wrap my gift and bring it home to put under our tree. I came into the living room, looked at the tree, all lit up and filling our house with Christmas joy.

The box was too small. What? There is no way that the slow cooker of my dreams was in that box.

Hmmm…. I was puzzled. I couldn’t figure it out. Like the Grinch when Christmas came anyway, I puzzled and puzzled until my puzzler was sore.

Christmas morning arrived and we opened our gifts together while the kids opened their stockings. I couldn’t wait to see what was in this now mystery box. And oh, he did not disappoint.

He got me a pasta making attachment for my stand mixer! You guys, this was just as good as what I was expecting, but even better because I wasn’t expecting it!

We’d been talking about making our pasta for so long, but we never got around to actually doing it. A couple days after Christmas, I did make some pasta and it was really good. I’m not going to share that recipe today because it wasn’t great and I’d like to do some tweaking to make it actually work a lot better than it did. I watched a video of someone making pasta dough and mine looked nothing like theirs, so I’m going to work on it a bit more. But really, fresh pasta is so good!

Anyway, when I made my pasta, I just did a plain rigatoni with a tomato-meat sauce. I decided to serve garlic knots on the side because who doesn’t love garlic knots?   These are really easy too. I got the recipe from Pillsbury.

You just need:

1 tube of Pillsbury breadstick dough
2 tablespoons butter, melted
2 tablespoons olive oil
4 cloves garlic, minced
½ teaspoon dried basil*
½ teaspoon dried parsley*
salt and pepper

*You can use fresh, like the original recipe calls for, just increase the amount to 1 teaspoon. I was out of fresh and I always have dried herbs and spices on hand.

In a bowl, combine the butter, olive oil, garlic, basil, and parsley.

Open the tube of dough and unroll it. Separate each breadstick (there should be 12). Stretch each one out a little bit and twist it into a knot shape. My hubby wasn’t home at the time I made these, so I couldn’t really capture how to do it, but it was really easy and there is a perfect photo on the Pillsbury website.

Put the knots in an ungreased 9” round baking dish and pour the butter mixture over the top. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and bake in a 375 degree oven for 15 minutes.



  I think mine could have cooked a little bit longer, but they were sooooooo good! I’m going to make these whenever I make pasta now!

2 thoughts on “Garlic Knots 

  1. Pingback: Chili | Food on the Table

  2. Pingback: Homemade Spinach Pasta  | Food on the Table

Leave a Reply

