Parmesan Potatoes

Ok, you guys, I have been living in a “Draft” world. I just recently had a lot of time off work—Christmas through New Year’s—11 days. You would think I would have had PLENTY of time to blog.

You would be right. I did have plenty of time to blog. But did I?

Of course not. I was too busy clearing off my DVR and binge watching Netflix shows. And building the biggest Scooby Doo Lego haunted house set with my 5-year-old son. No kidding. That was 4 ½ hours of brick building fun. Oh, and potty training my two- year-old daughter, which was as much fun as it sounds, but 1000 times easier than potty training my son was.

I did still cook and I did still take pictures of my cooking process. But you know what I did with those photos? I uploaded them to wordpress as a draft and never looked back.

I seriously have TWELVE posts in my draft folder right now! All photos and a title. No text. So now I get to go through all those photos and try to remember how I made each dish. Wish me luck!

Let’s start off with something easy. I’m fairly confident I will remember how to make this one because I’ve been making it for YEARS. My mom made them often when I was growing up and now I do. And it only has 3 ingredients.

Red Potatoes (how many depends on the size. I had some medium sized potatoes and used 6) 

½ stick of butter

1 to 1 ½ cups shredded parmesan cheese

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Add the butter to a 9×13 inch baking dish and put in the oven while it is preheating to melt the butter. You can melt it in a separate dish in the microwave or on the stove if you want, but why make more dishes to wash?

Take the dish out of the oven when the butter is melted and move the dish around to coat the bottom. Sprinkle the parmesan cheese over the butter.  

Cut each potato in half length-wise and put cut-side down on top of the cheese.

Bake, uncovered, for 40 minutes.

This is a really simple side dish, but it is so good. It makes really good leftovers too, so if there are any left, definitely save them!  

Sorry I don’t have an “after” photo but I was on my way to a dinner I was bringing these to.

The cheese gets really bubbly and crispy, though, and that is one of the best things about this side dish!

Leave a Reply

