Copycat Dunkin’ Donuts Breakfast Sandwich

I’ve lived here in Southern California my whole life. That means certain places like Dunkin’ Donuts were never on my radar. When we wanted donuts, other than mom and pop places, we would go to Winchell’s. I still love Winchell’s, but I’ve always been a fan of the cake donut.

Back in the late 90s, I remember Krispy Kreme opened in California. That was sort of life-changing moment in my donut eating world. It wasn’t a cake donut, but it was still oh, so good. They are pretty much everywhere now, but they are just as good all these years later.

That brings us to last year when Dunkin’ Donuts opened a store in Santa Monica, and the entire West LA crowd lost their collective minds. We’d all been listening to our friends who were former East Coast transplants rave about Dunkin’ Donuts the way Californians evangelize In-N-Out. The line for that first Dunkin’ Donuts grand opening rivaled Disneyland and was covered by local news. Someone at work brought in a box and all us Cali-natives were ready to try this amazing donut. The verdict?

Eh, it was just a donut. It was good, but it wasn’t worth the hype, in my opinion. Then I found out that what is really good there are their breakfast sandwiches. OK, that I can get on board with.

A few months ago, they tore down a dilapidated old Fosters Freeze a couple miles from my house and replaced it with a bright and shiny new Dunkin. The novelty had worn off by then and they didn’t get the big welcome that first one got. But they are doing steady business and I was finally able to get over there a few weeks ago. I picked my hubby and I up a couple breakfast sandwiches and that’s when I knew the hype of Dunkin’ Donuts.

This was a really good sandwich! At about $6 each, though, I thought it would be best to figure out how to recreate it at home. I was finally able to try it and it was really good! Maybe even a tiny bit better, just because it’s homemade.

This was a good weekend breakfast and used up ingredients I almost always have on hand.

For two sandwiches

4 pieces of thick-cut bacon
brown sugar
black pepper
3 large eggs
milk
2 slices of cheddar cheese
2 croissants

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and lay out the bacon in a single layer. Rub both sides of each piece with some brown sugar and some black pepper. Just a light sprinkle of the brown sugar and a heavier sprinkle of the pepper. This is a sweet pepper bacon, so you want to be able to taste the sugar and pepper, but not be choked out by it.

Bake in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes. Remove from the parchment and let it cool a bit. It will get nice and crispy.

Meanwhile, beat your eggs with a large splash of milk and scramble.

Cut your croissants in half and toast up a bit on the inside. This is just so it doesn’t get soggy when you add your eggs.

Finally, assemble the sandwich: Eggs, Cheese, bacon.


This was so, so good. I will definitely be making this way more often.

Leave a Reply

