White Chocolate Cranberry Biscotti

This is the last post for my Christmas movie series and I really hope you guys enjoyed it. I know I am so weird about my love for all things Christmas, so thank you for letting me share this.

And even if you skipped over my Christmas movie gushing, I hope you at least enjoyed the recipes I created!

All of the movies I talked about go back to this original post of the common themes or plot points found in TV Christmas movies. I took each category and expanded on it and created some recipes that went with it. Well, here’s a bonus category I like to call “The Ones No One Else Remembers.” These are movies I remember fondly from my childhood that no one else seems to remember. Or at least they don’t get as much attention as some of the other more famous childhood favorites (I’m talking to you, Charlie Brown).

When I was a kid, we had a VHS tape (‘member those?!) on which we recorded off the TV (omg, remember doing that?!? I feel like I’m really aging myself here) a boatload of Christmas movies. On it where the classics like Charlie Brown Christmas, Frosty the Snowman, How the Grinch Stole Christmas, that sort of thing. There were also a few that I remember loving, but most people don’t remember at all:

  • A Mouse, A Mystery, and Me (1987): Alex is a mystery-writing mouse who teams up with his friend and a little boy (who may have been an orphan, I don’t quite remember) to help track down Santa, who the little boy believes was kidnapped. The three sleuths go on a little Christmas Eve adventure and uncover other crimes in the meantime. I remember thinking this movie was very cool because it was live-action, except for the mouse who was animated. Also, fun fact: the mouse was voiced by the one-and-only Donald O’Conner. I recently discovered that you can watch this whole movie on YouTube. It is very 80s, you guys, but totally reminds me of my childhood.
  • ‘Twas The Night Before Christmas (1974): This is a Rankin Bass animated movie about a clockmaker named Joshua, a mouse and the mouse’s son Albert who prints an anonymous letter in the town newspaper saying that Santa doesn’t exist. He signed the letter “all of us” even though it was just him. Santa sees the letter and is offended, refusing to come to the town. Joshua, a clockmaker, decides to build a clock that will sing Santa a special song as he flies past their town on Christmas Eve, hoping it will convince him to stop. Albert goes to explore the clock and ruins it, ruining Joshua’s reputation and the plan. Father Mouse reminds Albert what Christmas is all about and Albert goes to fix the clock himself, getting Santa to come to the town and saving Christmas for everyone. They still show this one on ABC Family. Beware, the song the clock sings will be stuck in your head for the rest of your life.
  • A Muppet Family Christmas (1987): I always loved this one because it had all the Jim Henson characters in it: The Muppets, Sesame Street, Fraggle Rock, and Muppet Babies. Fozzy is driving all his friends to his mother’s farm in the country. Due to storm conditions, all the other Jim Henson friends join him there. It really is a great Muppet movie that gets overshadowed by A Muppet Christmas Carol (which is a great one as well).  I haven’t seen this movie since I was a kid, but I recently discovered this whole movie is on YouTube as well.

White Chocolate-Cranberry Biscotti

1 stick butter
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/2 tablespoon vanilla
2 tablespoons baking powder
2 1/2 cups flour
1/2 bag white chocolate chips
1 cup dried cranberries

In a mixer, combine the butter, sugar, eggs, and vanilla. Then add the flour and baking powder. After it is all combined, add the white chocolate chips and the cranberries and mix until combined and the mix-ins are evenly dispersed throughout the dough.

Divide your dough in two and form two discs. They should be sort of rectangular-ish. Bake at 350 degrees for about 25-30 minutes.

After the discs have baked, take them out of the oven and let them cool a bit before cutting them in to strips (your biscotti shapes). Turn the oven down to 325 degrees and bake these again for 10 minutes on each side.

For some reason this batch of biscotti turned out very crumbly and easily broken. I’m not quite sure why. They are still very delicious and excellent with coffee.  I figure out a less breakable recipe, I’ll be sure to update!

One thought on “White Chocolate Cranberry Biscotti

Leave a Reply

