Super Easy Rocky Road Fudge 

As I’ve grown older, I’ve learned to be more aware of where my talents lie. Over the years, I’ve probably wanted to be good at certain things, but maybe wasn’t so much, and went through a bit of denial. I feel like, perhaps, I’m not quite exceptional at too many things, but I am pretty good at a number of things.

Did any of that make sense? The sentence structure was a bit awkward, I will admit that.

One thing I will admit that I am not at all good at is gift wrapping. I owe a great deal of gratitude to the person who invented gift bags because stuffing a cute bag with some tissue paper is just about my level of wrapping ability.

Never-the-less, it is Christmas and there was a lot of wrapping to do. I didn’t want to use gift bags, because having a 5-year-old and a 2-year-old in the house could result in some gifts being opened way too early. I was a gift bag peeker myself when I was a kid.

So, since I had to force myself to sit down and wrap, I thought I would make it a bit easier by doing something I can say I am good at: Food. I made a plate of rocky road fudge and kept a few pieces by my side during the obligatory wrap-session. (Which I finished. PTSD-free! Yay!)

  
I haven’t garnered too much experience in candy-making, but that doesn’t matter with this super easy recipe that I found right here: https://www.verybestbaking.com/recipes/28655/easy-chocolate-fudge/

For my rocky road fudge, all you need is a bag of chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate), a can of sweetened condensed milk, a splash of vanilla, 1 cup chopped walnuts, and about 1/3 bag of mini marshmallows.

  
First, line an 8×8 or 9×9 baking dish with foil and spray with cooking spray.

In a pot over medium-low heat, combine the sweetened condensed milk and chocolate chips until melted. Turn off the heat.  
Add a splash of vanilla, the walnuts and the marshmallows. Mix until combined.  

Pour the mixture into the foil-lined baking dish and smooth out into an even layer. Put in the fridge for at least 2 hours.
 

Remove the foil from the dish (no clean up!) and peel the foil off the fudge. Cut into whatever size pieces you want and serve.

 

I’m a sucker for a good piece of fudge. This may not be super fancy with candy thermometers or what-have-you, but it is still really delicious.

Almost makes the gift wrapping not so bad. Almost.

4 thoughts on “Super Easy Rocky Road Fudge 

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Peppermint Thumbprint Cookies (Poland/Eastern Europe/Sweden) | Food on the Table

Leave a Reply

