Breakfast Casserole 

I love breakfast. I could eat breakfast food anytime of day. I really love breakfast casseroles. Seriously, if I had the time, I’d make one every morning. They are so easy and so versatile, you can put whatever you want in one. They are great for feeding a crowd, perfect for brunch, and best of all, you can make them the day before.

Growing up,  we always had breakfast casseroles for Christmas morning breakfast. I’ve continued the tradition with my own family and will also make them other times throughout the year, like on football Sunday.

For this one all you need is:

Frozen potatoes 

Breakfast sausage 

Cheese 

6 eggs 

1 cup of milk

You can use whatever style potatoes you want, but I like to use these potatoes o’brien because it adds a good flavor without any extra work. You can use the regular homestyle or the shredded ones are good too.

  

Pour out a layer of the frozen potatoes into a baking dish. You don’t need to cook themselves. 

On top of the potatoes, add a layer of cheese, then a layer of cooked sausage, then another layer of cheese.

I used cheddar but you can switch this up if you want. For the sausage, I used regular country pork sausage, but you can use turkey or Italian or even bacon or ham if you want.
   

In a bowl, whisk together 6 eggs, 1 cup of milk, a sprinkle of pepper and some garlic salt. Pour over the potatoes, cheese, and sausage. I used a slightly smaller dish, but if you use a 9×13, increase your eggs by 2 and your milk by 1/2 cup.
 

Bake at 375 degrees for 40-45 minutes or until done.     
 

This is a pretty basic casserole but it is really delicious and comforting. A great way to start the day. And it can be a lot of fun playing around with the mix ins!

Leave a Reply

