A Couple Thanksgiving Tips

I’ll preface this by saying what I’m sure everyone already knows: I am by no means a cooking or Thanksgiving expert.

I will say, though, that I have learned from The Cooking School of Mom and have picked up a trick or two over the past 7 years hosting.

First, these two items are my answer to a perfect turkey. There are thousands of ways to prepare a turkey, but this has been my go-to. The dry brine is easier than a regular brine and it provides so much flavor. You just coat the bird the day before, cover it with plastic wrap and let it sit in the fridge. When you are ready to cook it, rinse off the brine, dry the turkey, coat the bird with butter–over and under the skin– and put the turkey in the roasting bag.

These bags are great. You just put the turkey in the bag and then into your roasting pan. Don’t forget to poke a few hole in the bag. Put the turkey in a 350 degree oven for about 2-1/2 hours for a 12-16 pound bird. The bags come with spot-on instructions and cooking times. Then you just leave it alone. It will roast in the bag and sort of baste itself; you don’t even have to worry about that. And it will get nice and golden brown. The turkey always comes out super flavorful and super juicy.

I get my brine at Williams-Sonoma because I’m lazy, but you could totally make your own.

My next tip is to pick up one of these poultry blends of fresh herbs. I like to use fresh herbs at Thanksgiving, but if I buy one sage and one thyme, I always end up with WAY more than I need and I end up throwing it away. This little guy gives you the perfect amount of each herb, so you don’t waste anything.

I didn’t use the rosemary for any Thanksgiving dishes, but it won’t go to waste. Stay tuned to see what I do with it.

I hope this helps!

One thought on “A Couple Thanksgiving Tips

  1. Pingback: The Perfectly Roasted Turkey | Food on the Table

Leave a Reply

