Lemon Pepper and Roasted Vegetable Pappardelle 

We are almost a week away from The Big Day. That’s right, Thanksgiving is almost upon us and I am so excited!!! I know it seems like a lot of work, but my mom, brother, and I all split up the cooking duties and it all comes together at my house for a delicious and wonderful time with family. And A LOT of food!

Since there is going to be a lot of food, that means plenty of leftovers as well. I like to take this time to try to clear as much space in my fridge as possible.  Sometimes that means pretending your fridge/cupboard is a Chopped basket and you have to just create something.

That’s how this dish came about. Everything in this dish is good, so I figured it would be at least edible. It was actually SO delicious!! I would make this even if I weren’t just trying to clear room in my fridge.  It was really easy too, and you guys know how much I like recipes that are easy and weeknight friendly!

All you need is:

An assortment of veggies. I used carrots, zucchini, and asparagus because that’s what I had.
Olive oil, garlic salt, and pepper for roasting
1 package lemon pepper Pappardelle. You can use plain too, just add lemon pepper seasoning to the dish at the end.
4 oz mascarpone cheese (you can use cream cheese if you’d rather)
1 handful of shredded Parmesan cheese

Start out by chopping your veggies and laying them out in a single layer on a foil-lined baking sheet. I tried to keep my pieces on the thicker side because they will shrink when they roast and you don’t want them to burn. Also, try to keep them uniform in size.

Cover the veggies in garlic salt, pepper, and a generous drizzle of olive oil. Mix it all around to get all the pieces covered.

Roast in the oven at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Stir halfway.

I found this pasta at Trader Joe’s and it is so good! If you don’t have a TJ’s near you (you have my sympathies), or you just don’t want to make a special trip, you can use regular Pappardelle. Or you could even us fettucini if you wanted to. I just like how the thicker noodle really held up under the creamy mascarpone and roasted veggies.

Cook the pasta according to package directions. Drain and immediately add back to the pot. Add the mascarpone and parmesan and stir until melted. I turned the burner on low just to help melt the cheeses. You will be left with a nice creamy sauce. If you want it a bit thinner, save some of the pasta water and add it in.

Also, if you are not using the lemon pepper pasta, here is where you would add about a teaspoon of lemon pepper seasoning. Obviously, you can do this to your specific tastes, but I wouldn’t skip it because the flavor is so good.

Once the cheese is all melted in, add the veggies. Here is a neat trick: Just pick up the foil and slide the veggies into the pot. Easy clean up!

This was really good and very comforting! And a great way to get more veggies into our dinners. It really hit the spot!

2 thoughts on “Lemon Pepper and Roasted Vegetable Pappardelle 

Leave a Reply

