No-bake Lemon Cream & Raspberry pie

Growing up in my family meant eating a lot of pie. We had our share of other desserts, but when it came to special occasions, we did eat a lot of pie. Apple, strawberry, boysenberry, chocolate cream, lemon meringue, coconut cream. You name it, we had it.

 I love all of them, but my favorite pie is chocolate cream. This, however, has led to many a discussion between my sister and me about whether or not this is actually a pie. In her opinion, it is pudding in a crust. I said, by that definition, then strawberry pie is just strawberries in a crust. And what about chicken pot pie and quiche? Where do they fit in? This has turned into a very circular argument, with neither of us willing to cede our opinion.

For the love of sisterhood and pie, we’ve agreed to set our differences aside and agree to disagree.

I’ve recently come to the conclusion that I don’t make enough pie. I don’t know that there’s a rule for this, but I feel like, as a self-proclaimed food blogger, I should be making more pies. Well, good news for you, my tens of readers. I made a pie last night. It was super yummy, and best of all, really easy!

I may have exaggerated a little bit when I called this a No-Bake lemon pie, because I did bake the graham cracker crust, but you don’t have to. You can just put it in the fridge and use it that way or you can buy a premade one from the grocery store (and then it would be even easier!) Just do whatever your heart desires with your crust.

 For this pie, you will need:

 1-1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs

1/4 cup sugar

5 tablespoons butter, melted

1 jar of lemon curd (can be found at the grocery store near the jelly/jam)

2 cups of heavy whipping cream

1/2 cup of powdered sugar (more if you want it sweeter)

Frozen raspberries (or really any frozen berry you like)

2 tablespoons sugar

1 tablespoon cornstarch

In a bowl, mix together the graham cracker crumbs, sugar, and melted butter until it resembles wet sand. Pour into a pie dish and spread out evenly. Bake in a 350 degree oven for about 7 minutes then let cool completely. I put mine in the fridge to speed up the cooling process. Or you can buy a store-bought graham cracker crust and skip all this.   

  

While your crust is cooling, prep your filling. In a mixing bowl, whip your heavy cream and powdered sugar until stiff peaks form. In a medium bowl, dump out the contents of a 10.5 oz jar of lemon curd and add half of the whipped cream. Gently fold the two ingredients together until well combined. Don’t stir because you’ll deflate your whipped cream. Just gently fold. Set aside

  
  

In another bowl, defrost your berries in the microwave. I put them in for about 2 minutes. They were thawed, not warm, and contained a lot of yummy liquid.

Add the berries to a blender and blend well with 2 tablespoons sugar and 1 tablespoon cornstarch. Set aside.

  
  

Time to assemble.

Pour the lemon cream filling into the cooled pie crust.  
  

Spoon a circle of the berry puree on top of the lemon.

  
Add the rest of the whipped cream to a ziploc bag (or piping bag, if you have one) and cut a small hole in the corner. Pipe the cream around the outer edge of the pie. Or, really, you can put the whipped cream on however you want. It’s your pie.

    
   

After we had our dessert, I actually put the leftover pie in the freezer. It was really good that way too. A little like ice cream pie.

Fair warning, that while this pie is really delicious, it is really tart! I’m sure you could add more sugar to counter-balance the tartness from the lemon curd, but that’s up to you and your tastebuds. I thought it was just right. The hubby and my 2 year old also loved it. (The 5 year old was too busy with Paw Patrol to care.)

I’m sure even my sister would like it, even though she might not classify it as a real pie :0)

Leave a Reply

