Mango Guacamole 

Oooh guacamole! My favorite way to eat an avocado.

I’ve lived in Southern California my whole life and it has recently occurred to me that I have taken my year-round access to avocados for granted. I have a friend who lives in the Midwest and she told me that her grocery store sometimes has frozen avocados for sale. Oh that makes my heart hurt. FROZEN AVOCADOS??? The tragedy.

Here, there are still seasons where avocados are better than other seasons, but they are always available. And there are beyond hundreds of things you can do with them! You can even make chocolate cake with them. I wouldn’t recommend it though. I made chocolate cake with avocados once and it was disgusting.

With guacamole, I figure as long as you have the avocados, some salt, cumin, chili powder, garlic powder and lime juice, you are set. Anything else is just added yummyness.

For this recipe, this one time, though, I broke my cardinal rule and bought one of those premixed seasoning packets. I know, I know. Please don’t judge me. I know they are full of sodium and non-clumping agents and whatnot, but they have everything you need and they are a total time saver. Forgive me? OK, thanks!

I feel like I made up for the premixed seasoning by adding some mango. It was a whim and it totally paid off. So yummy! The sweet of the mango was the perfect balance for the spices in the guacamole.

2 large avocados
1 guacamole seasoning packet (or pinches of salt, cumin, chili powder, garlic powder and cayenne if you want it a bit spicy. Everyone likes theirs a bit different so play around with the spices!)
the juice of 1 lime
1 mango

Mash the avocados really well. We like really smooth guacamole in this house. If you like it a bit chunkier, leave some pieces of avocado whole.

Add the seasoning packet or your combo of spices and the lime juice. Mix well.
Peel and dice the mango. Mix it into your guacamole.


You can eat this right away or better yet, let it sit for a little while so the flavors can develop a bit more. I made mine the night before I needed it and it was delicious. You will probably have to stir it because the avocados will brown on the top, but that’s not a big deal.
How do you like your guacamole?
Leave a Reply

