Goat Cheese Cranberry Cracker spread

A few years ago (which in my time-warped mind could be last year or 5 years ago), my friend Alison had a dinner party at her apartment. At this dinner party, she served this dip. Well, it’s pretty thick, so I guess it’s more of a spread. Anyway, I loved it. Then she told me there was goat cheese in it. Ugh, gross.
Sometimes I’m like a child in that they will like what you serve them if you don’t tell them what’s in it. I didn’t like goat cheese. Or at least I thought I didn’t. This time, I didn’t stop eating the dip even with the goat cheese. It was so yummy!
Over the past few years since I had this dip/spread, I’ve figured this out: It’s actually Feta cheese that I don’t like, which is made from sheep’s milk or a combo of goat’s milk and sheep’s milk. So, regular goat cheese = OK; feta cheese = disgusting & vile. (I also can’t stand blue cheese, for the record)
Now that that’s situated, let’s get back to the dip.
This stuff is so good and it’s perfect for the Fall. The cinnamon and dried cranberries are essential Fall flavors, which could be why I love it so much. I’m a bit obsessed with Fall/Winter (even though I’m in Southern California and it’s October and supposed to be 95 today).  I’ve only ever served this with Wheat Thins, but it would probably make a good sandwich or wrap spread with turkey! Especially yummy leftover turkey from Thanksgiving!
I’ve only made this for parties because I know if I just had it lying around the house, I’d eat the entire batch myself, parked in front of the TV.
I’m sure there is a hard and fast recipe out there for this somewhere. I just make it from memory and eyeball it. If you find the perfect amounts of each ingredient for you, write it down, so you know how much you like.
8oz cream cheese, softened (I use the tub of whipped cream cheese because it makes mixing really easy)
4 oz goat cheese
cinnamon (or pumpkin pie spice if you are out of cinnamon and keep forgetting to grab some at the grocery store)
dried cranberries, roughly chopped

In a bowl, mix together the cream cheese and goat cheese until well combined. Add cinnamon to taste. You don’t need much, probably about 1/4 teaspoon. You can always add more if you want. Stir well. Add the cranberries, again, just eyeball it. I think I used about a handful.
I’ll bet some chopped walnuts would be good in this as well.
Serve with Wheat Thins because that’s the best.
Perfect for a Fall dinner party. Or a Thursday night watching Scandal.

7 thoughts on “Goat Cheese Cranberry Cracker spread

  1. Pingback: Cranberry Goat Cheese Spread (the sequel) | Food on the Table

Leave a Reply

