Mickey Waffles

I love Saturdays. So much. I’m a working mom (meaning I work out of the home. Of course all moms are working moms) and my day starts at 5:00 (well, my day starts at 3:30 am, but my work day starts at 5:00). That means my husband has morning duty to get the kids ready for school/day care. Saturdays I like to ease into my morning with coffee and the DVR before everyone else gets up, then the kids usually start getting up around 7 or 7:30 and then our loud, chaotic day ensues! But I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Weekday mornings, the kids eat oatmeal or Lucky Charms for breakfast. I like to try to make weekend morning breakfasts a bit more special. Most of the time, they request Mickey waffles.

My mom bought this waffle maker from a 1989 trip to Disney World when I was 5 and it still works like a charm! After my son was born, my mom passed it on to me and we’ve definitely put it to use.

The recipe? Just check the back of the Bisquick box for this one. I do add a touch of vanilla extract though. 
  

These two are growing right before my eyes. So fast I can’t believe it sometimes. Didn’t I just bring them home from the hospital? Seems like it. Babies definitely don’t keep.

  

Our schedules are so busy so anytime I can spend just sitting and enjoying each other’s company is a chance I will jump at. If it takes a few minutes to make the waffles so they can be Mickey shaped, I’ll do it to see the smiles on their cute little faces. 

I don’t believe in the adage “cherish every moment” that everyone likes to tell young parents, because I don’t believe you have to. But these moments? Yes, these I will cherish. 

Leave a Reply

