The Best Open-Faced Bagel Sandwich Ever

There is a place in Long Beach that I used to go to often called The Bagelry and Bistro. I think it’s been around for awhile, but I didn’t discover it until college when my friend Dawn and I were going to lunch and she introduced me to this place. Oh thank you Dawn! (PS I haven’t talked to Dawn in so long. I remember her as such an amazing girl. She spent a lot of time on mission trips serving the Lord all over the world. That’s probably what she’s still doing now. She was loving and kind and had a big heart. The world needs more people like Dawn.)

BUT BACK TO THE BAGELRY… They make their bagels fresh all day and they are so yummy. They have this bagel sandwich there called The Palm Springs Bagel that I would get all the time. Of course when I moved from Long Beach to Culver City, I no longer had The Bagelry so close by. I, of course, had to make them myself. Thankfully, it isn’t hard.

Now, The Bagelry makes their own bagels and I haven’t quite ventured into that yet (maybe someday? Just to say I did it. Seems like a lot of work when you can get perfectly good bagels at the store bakery).

All you need:

Bagels. Any savory flavor you want. I suppose you could use a cinnamon raision but it probably wouldn’t taste very good with the lemon pepper!
Avocado
Tomato
Cream Cheese
Lemon Pepper seasoning
Purple onion (optional)

Assembling is pretty self explanatory:

Toast the bagels.
Spread the cream cheese
Slice the tomato and place on top of the cream cheese.
Slice the avocado and place on top of the tomato.
Sprinkle with lemon pepper.
Eat and enjoy!

*The Bagelry adds purple onion to theirs, but I’m not a fan of raw onion, so I leave it off.

One thought on “The Best Open-Faced Bagel Sandwich Ever

Leave a Reply

