Something a little different: Liebster Award

So Katie over at quirkyandwonderful.wordpress.com nominated me for a Liebster award. I’ve seen this award on other blogs and I really am so flattered that she liked my little blog enough to nominate me for one! Her blog is pretty great, so I’d suggest checking it out.


I’m still pretty new to the blogging world, so I am just going to copy Katie’s description of the Liebster award (I hope that’s OK!):

This is a blogging award given to newer bloggers by other bloggers to promote and welcome up-and-coming blogs. I have read several Liebster award posts, and enjoy the different questions and answers, as well as browsing the blogs nominated. It’s a great way to find new blogs, and to get to know the bloggers.

There are slight variations on the rules from blogger to blogger, but here’s basically how it works. (Note that accepting the award is optional.) If you are nominated, you can accept by writing a post that includes the following:

. Link back to the person who nominated you
. Include the instructions in your post
. Answer the 11 questions given to you by the nominator
. Display the Liebster award logo in your post
. Nominate up to 11 other bloggers with less than 200 followers
. Create 11 questions for the nominees
. Notify all nominees via social media/blog

I nominated a couple blogs I’ve been enjoying lately. I don’t know if these bloggers have less than 200 followers because I don’t know how to get that info. These are just blogs I enjoy reading who I don’t think have recieved this award already. Please don’t feel like you have to answer all the questions or anything, but I just wanted you to know how much I’ve enjoyed your blogs!

Kristin @ Tastefully Gluten Free. I love this blog and I’ve even included one of her recipes on my own. I’m not gluten free at all, but with her recipes, you don’t even notice that they are geared towards a special diet. They are just delicious and that’s what matters. I mean, c’mon. She has gluten free recipes with NUTELLA. Can’t hate that! Her photos are also beautiful!

Sonal @ Food Bound. I haven’t made any of her recipes yet, but her photos are beyond GORGEOUS (see? Simple pita bread never looked so beautiful) and I can’t wait to try some!

That’s it for now. I really like other blogs too, but I noticed they already have the award, so I didn’t want to double up :0)

Here are your questions:

1. What is your favorite book?.
2. What motivates you when you need it most?
3. If you had to be trapped inside a TV show for a month as a new character, which show would it be? (past or present)
4. Who was your favorite fictional character as a child?
5. If you could take any vacation at all, money is no object, what would you do/where would you go?
6. If you could only eat one thing for a year, what would it be?
7. Game night! What do you want to play?
8. “I never leave the house without my…”
9. What is a song you play on repeat?
10. If you were keeping a secret, what is the one thing someone would have to do to get you to spill the beans?
11. You are up for a major award. Which one is it and for what category? (Oscar? Tony? Emmy? Grammy? Teen Choice?!)

Here are the answers to the questions I was given by Katie:

1. How did your blogging journey begin? (And why have you continued?)

I’ve always loved writing, and I actually started with a different blog about 5 years ago after my son was born. I just wrote about everyday things, things that interested me, an occasional soap box moment, etc. Pretty much “my blog, my rules.” I struggle with self-confidence and would often scrap blog post ideas because “who cares?” I also struggle with having photos of my kids up too much on the blog. I’m sure it’s fine, but you never know. I think I needed something that was still personal to me, but not so intimate, thus was born this blog! I love food and I love cooking and I love how it universally binds us together. I can tell personal stories and share recipes. Going through other culture’s cuisines, I can also learn a thing or two and hopefully pass all that on to whoever stops by.

2. What is your favorite kind of weather?

I live in Southern California, so this is a bit of a trick question because we only have two kinds of weather! I love when it is sunny with blue skies, but about 75 degrees. Not too hot, not too cold. But on the rare times we do get legitimate AUTUMN weather, I am a happy girl! I love my boots and scarves!! Also, nothing beats sitting in your warm house, curled up with a bowl of soup while listening to the rain fall outside.

3. What is your favorite flavor combination in a dessert?

Chocolate & Peanut Butter

4. What is one thing you hope to accomplish or do in your lifetime?
Raise my children to be strong, smart, successful, kind, and generous. And LOTS of traveling to LOTS of places!

5. What is your favorite genre of music?

I am a country girl from way back. But a lot of this new stuff is bumming me out (except for Miranda Lambert. I adore Miranda Lambert!). I like stuff from the 90s and early 2000s. I also like 90s pop, and throwing it way back to Ol’ Blue Eyes himself, Frank Sinatra and his Rat Pack pals.

6. What is your creative outlet?

Cooking/baking or catching up on scrapbooking. But only scrapbooking when I can get my kids distracted with their own art projects for extended periods of time. As you may guess, I’m way behind on those projects!

7. What is your favorite smell or combination of smells?

Roses. And newborn babies. And onions and garlic sautéing in butter :0)

8. What is one of your favorite words and why?

Lackadaisical. I know it means “careless and lazy” but it is really an aesthetically pretty word, right? It should mean something else more happy and bright.

9. What is one of your favorite quotes and why?
I’m pretty sure this one speaks for itself. It is about not worrying about other people so much and just be true to yourself. We live in a broken world; that much is true. But that doesn’t mean you have to contribute to the brokenness. It sort of goes hand-in-hand with another quote I like: “It’s not our job to toughen up our children to face a cruel & heartless world. It’s our job to raise children who will make the world a little less cruel and heartless.” Just imagine what this world would be like if everyone loved and respected each other. If everyone were kind to one another.

10. You have a whole day to yourself. how do you spend it?

I’m a bit of TV junkie, so probably watching whatever I want without lots of background noise. I can work on some sewing project while watching. I’d eat something really bad for me. I’d take a TV break to read for a while. Maybe head to the mall to do some window shopping, which would inevitably lead to finding something I just have to have.

11. What is your favorite memory from this summer?

Our family has had such a great summer. We just got back from Big Bear, so that is fresh in my mind and it was definitely a great memory I will always keep with me.

IMG_6247

Leave a Reply

