Chicken Fingers 

My 5-year-old son has spent the better part of his life as a SUPER picky eater. Like, dinner could be a nightmare if chicken nuggets or mac n cheese weren’t nearby.  Finally, over the past year (maybe a little less), he’s been more and more willing to try new things. And surprise, surprise! He actually is discovering that he likes more than just chicken nuggets! It’s a dream 5 years in the making. I do many a happy dance these days.

My 2-year-old daughter, on the other hand, is a total foodie! She will eat pretty much anything I put in front of her. Thank God, because 2 picky eaters would have been too much for me!

Now that my son is willing to try new things, I am able to give him healthier choices. He still has a strong preference for chicken nuggets so I figure being able to make them for him is way better than the store-bought kind. And he loved them! So who could ask for more?

(Let’s not kid ourselves, though. I’m busy. I totally have a supply of Tyson dino nuggets on hand at all times!)

This recipe is super easy and actually makes a lot, so you’ll have leftovers. It is an adaptation of this Betty Crocker recipe (meaning, I changed a couple things, but it is pretty much the same recipe. Credit where credit is due, people).

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
2 eggs
1 cup pancake mix (the real mix, not the “just add water” kind)
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese (it would probably be yummy with chedder too. Experiment!)
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon paprika
3 tablespoons melted butter

Cut your chicken into fingers. You can also use pre-cut chicken tenders. I don’t see why you couldn’t make them smaller and make them nuggets, if you wanted. The biggest point is to make sure they are as much the same size as possible.

Whisk the eggs in a bowl, set aside.

Put the pancake mix, cheese, garlic powder, salt, and paprika in a gallon ziplock bag.

Working in batches, coat the chicken in the egg and then put in the bag. Do about 1/2 at a time. Even less would work. Don’t crowd it otherwise it won’t coat well.

Place the chicken on a foil-lined baking sheet (make sure to spray the foil with non-stick spray first. This is very important. Don’t ask me how I know that.) Drizzle with melted butter.

Bake at 450 degrees for 7 minutes. Flip, and bake 7 minutes more.

Enjoy!

I dipped mine in BBQ sauce, but I’m not going to lie; it didn’t need it. Maybe ranch would have been good if you need a dipping sauce at all. Or maybe if you used cheddar instead, the BBQ sauce would have been good. I think it was the combo of BBQ and Parmesan that wasn’t quite the bees knees.

It was still super delicious though! My hubby requested we add this to the rotation. Works for me. Anything I can get ALL my family to eat at the same time is a winner in my book!

See? He loved it!

And of course she liked it! She’s my foodie protege! :0)

Leave a Reply

