Cinnamon Rolls and Orange Rolls

I’m part of a Fantasy Football league and Saturday was our draft. We start early in the morning, around 8:30 or 9:00, so everyone brings yummy breakfast food and we make ourselves a nice little breakfast buffet.

My contribution this year were cinnamon rolls and orange rolls, and they were pretty delicious, if I do say so myself. I may have left them in the oven a bit long (they were a bit crunchier on the outside than usual), but they were so soft and gooey on the inside, it was hardly noticeable. 

I use my bread machine to make the dough for these rolls. You guys, I love my bread machine and recommend one to everyone. It is definitely one of my favorite kitchen gadgets. Whenever I’ve tried to make dough without the machine, it never rises right. Something about the temperature of the water having to be just right when proofing the yeast throws me off. It’s always either too warm or too cold. With the bread machine, I don’t have to worry about it. It’s always been perfect every time.

 

For the dough, I just use the recipe from Betty Crocker in this book: 

the title is no lie

1 egg plus enough water to equal 1 cup plus 1 tablespoon

1/4 cup butter, softened

3-1/2 cups bread flour

1 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup sugar

1-1/2 teaspoons bread machine or quick active dry yeast

You just put everything straight into the bread machine in the order suggested by the manufacturer, generally wet to dry ingredients. I’ve found that this particular book lists the ingredients in the order you put them in. Not sure if that is the case for all cookbooks, though, so check the user manual.
   

That’s it for the dough. Just select the setting you want and push start. I set mine and then picked up my son from school and took him to karate class. By the time we got back, the dough was done. (Well, the first batch. I made two batches of dough. I wouldn’t suggest doubling the recipe because it does go through a rise cycle in the machine and it may not fit with too much dough. Play it safe and do two separate batches.) 

just pick a number for your dough and done! couldn’t be easier!

  

a nice little window to watch what’s going on with your bread. And it tells you what stage the dough is at.

  

After the dough is done, set it on a floured surface for about 10 minutes to rest. I’ve learned that the resting is important in rolling yeasty dough out because otherwise there will be too much elasticity and it will be hard to get rolled out. Same with pizza dough, FYI. 

Roll the dough out into a large rectangle, brush liberally with melted butter and add your filling. I made two kinds:

1. Cinnamon: brown sugar, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice. I covered the whole thing with brown sugar (eye ball) and then sprinkled a bunch of cinnamon on top (again, eye ball, and use your nose. You can tell when there is enough cinnamon. Trust me.) The pumpkin pie spice was at the suggestion of my hubby. I put a little bit on top. It wasn’t over-powering and it added a roundness to the flavor of the traditional cinnamon.

  

2. Orange: I used a little bit less butter on this one, but still brush some on there. I then spread about half a jar of orange marmalade. You can do more or less if you want.

  

Once the dough is covered with whatever you are putting inside (other options are chopped nuts, raisins, nutella), roll it up. Starting on one of the long sides, roll the dough, pulling a little as you go. Once the dough is in a log shape, I tend to pull it gently (VERY) to stretch it out a little more.

  

Next, take a knife (serrated, preferably, but not necessary) and cut your rolls to whatever size you want. I’m of the “bigger is better” mind-set when it comes to cinnamon rolls! The recipe says it will make 15 rolls, but I only got 10 out of each batch of dough I made, so maybe mine were a bit bigger.

Place the cut rolls into a baking dish and set in a warm, dry spot covered with a towel to rise for a couple hours. They should double in size.

Bake at 375 degrees for 23-28 minutes.

You can make these the night before if you want (I did). You just put them in the refrigerator for up to 48 hours. Take them out of the fridge and let rise for 2 hours before baking.

  

While the rolls are baking, you can make a glaze. 

For the Cinnamon rolls: 1-1/2 cups powdered sugar, 1 tablespoon milk, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, 1 teaspoon cinnamon. Stir together. You can add more milk if you want it thinner or more sugar if you want it thicker. My goal here was definitely a glaze, so I didn’t want it thick like a frosting. 

For the Orange Rolls: 1-1/2 cups powdered sugar, the zest of one medium orange, the juice of half an orange, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract. Again, add more juice or more sugar based on the consistency you want. 

Remove the rolls from the oven and let the cool for a couple minutes before drizzling with the glaze.

Enjoy and make sure to share :0)

sooooooo yummy!!

 

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Rolls and Orange Rolls

Leave a Reply

