Chipotle Chicken Tortilla Soup 

I love chicken tortilla soup. It does seem, though, like one of those dishes that can be either really good or disappointing depending on where you get it. You remember my friend Eva Longoria? I’ve never been disappointed in any of her recipes. I didn’t, however, care much for her tortilla soup. Which is a bummer.

Up until I created this recipe, my go-to was Trisha Yearwood’s* recipe. Now, don’t get me wrong, her’s is delicious. I mean seriously good eats!  It’s very comforting.

*side note: I met Ms. Yearwood once and we talked about cooking. It was pretty great. I also met her hubby. You may have heard of him? Garth Brooks. It was one of the greatest days of my life. Now back on track….

Now, I’m pretty sensitive to spicy food, and this soup was at my limit. My 2-year-old loved it though! She takes after her dad that way. You can adjust the spice by adjusting the chipotle and adobo sauce you put in.

So, while it may be 80 degrees in August right now, bookmark this recipe because it is delicious and perfect for a cold night… When we get one again!

Chipotle Chicken Tortilla Soup

1/2 onion diced
2 cloves of garlic minced
Sautée in about a tablespoon of olive oil until soft
Add:
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon oregano
2 teaspoons garlic salt
2 chipotles from a can diced
About a spoonful of the adobo sauce (you can add more or less depending on how spicy you want it)
Shredded chicken (I just bought one of those roast chickens from the grocery store. The texture was perfect!)
1 can seasoned black beans. I think sometimes they are called Cuban style
1/2 bag of frozen corn
1 box of chicken stock

Mix it all together and let it simmer for at least 30 min. Just before serving, squeeze half a lime into the pot.

I served it with cheese, avocado, and crispy tortilla strips (cut tortillas and crisp up in a little vegetable oil in a skillet)

This is actually a photo from my friend Britni. I’m so thankful she asked for the recipe right when I made this initially or I would have probably forgotten how I made it. She said she loved it too!

One thought on “Chipotle Chicken Tortilla Soup 

  1. Pingback: Chicken Tortilla Soup | Food on the Table

Leave a Reply

