Easy Apricot Chicken 

Growing up, my family ate a lot of chicken. You would think I would be sick of it by now, but it is way too versatile of an ingredient to get sick of chicken! You can change the flavors so much. And as long as you don’t overcook it (which I do sometimes; hey, I’ve got two kids who often distract me just long enough!) it is always yummy. Also, when I was pregnant with my youngest, my doctor had me on a high protein, low carb semi-diet and the eating habits just sort of stuck. Don’t get me wrong; I still love my pasta and bread, but in limited quantities.

I don’t remember when I first made this chicken, but I’m sure it was a really long time ago. I think I found it in a magazine or online somewhere. I don’t remember the origin of the recipe or the actual original recipe, but over time, it has evolved into my own recipe. Something I just make out of habit, you know?

This is another dish my husband requests a lot. And it is super simple so I don’t mind making it at all. It comes together really quick so it’s a perfect weeknight meal. Plus, my kids love it so that alone makes it a winner in my book.

Apricot Chicken

2 chicken breasts, butterflied in half so you have 4 thinner pieces
salt and pepper
½ cup apricot preserves*
1 cup low-sodium chicken broth**
1 tablespoon low-sodium soy sauce**
vegetable oil for cooking

*I used ½ an 11oz jar of apricot preserves. It comes out to about ½ – ¾ cup preserves.
**Soy sauce is salty enough, even the low-sodium one, that you really need to make sure that the broth is low sodium also. Otherwise, your dish could end up being very salty tasting and that would not be good.

Heat some oil in a large skillet over medium heat. After splitting your chicken, lightly salt and pepper both sides and add to the oil. Cook about 3 minutes on each side, just long enough to brown the chicken. Remove from the skillet.

Add the preserves, broth and soy sauce to the skillet and bring to a boil. Stir to combine and melt the preserves into the sauce. Make sure to scrape up the yummy bits left from browning the chicken. Once the sauce is combined, turn the heat down and let it simmer for a few minutes. Add the chicken back to the sauce and let it finish cooking, another 4 or 5 minutes. Turn the chicken over about half way to make sure it is coated in the sauce.

After the chicken is done, put it on a place and spoon some of the sauce over it. Add a quick side dish and dinner is served!

Leave a Reply

