Strawberry Balsamic Dressing 

Sometimes I think this recipe came out of thin air. I made a salad but I had no dressing in the house. I usually do, but this time I didn’t. Lately I’ve been making this ranch dressing, which is delicious, but I didn’t have it or the ingredients to make it. Luckily, I had what I needed for this dressing. It only has three ingredients and it is really yummy!

Vinaigrettes (a mixture of vinegar and oil with seasonings) come from the French word for Vinegar (obviously), but they are a pretty universal staple in most kitchens. They are most often used as a dressing, but can be a marinade as well. Generally speaking, the ratio is 3 parts oil to 1 part vinegar, but I didn’t do that since I just sort of tossed everything into the blender until it looked good. And since I didn’t follow the vinaigrette rules, I’ll just call mine a dressing.

Traditionally, vinaigrettes are pretty basic: vinegar, oil, salt and pepper. In the US, we tend to add a lot of additions, like truffles, berries, garlic, blue cheese, etc. Seems pretty typical of the US, but also pretty yummy!

Strawberry Balsamic Dressing

1-1/2 cups chopped strawberries
3/4 cup balsamic vinegar
¼ cup extra virgin olive oil

Put all ingredients in a blender and mix until well combined.  

Leave a Reply

