Can we talk about Chia Pudding for a second?

OK, so I’ve seen tons of recipes for Chia Pudding and I’ve heard all about how delicious it is and how it is a healthy addition to your diet. Well, who doesn’t like pudding?! I thought I’d give it a try.

Here’s how chia pudding works: when the chia seeds are soaked in liquid, they get all gelatinous, mixing with the liquid and forming a pudding-like consistency. You can leave the seeds as they are and it will be similar to tapioca, or you can blend them up and make it smoother. I’m a big texture person, so I blended mine up. I used chocolate almond milk as my liquid and mixed in slivered almonds, cinnamon, and a little vanilla extract. Sounds pretty tasty, right? Ugh… if only…


Let me break it down for you:

  1. When I opened the chia seed package, I expected to smell nothing. That is not the case. They smell earthy, and not in a good way. They smell like seeds. Like seeds you are planting in a garden. They do not smell like something I would put in my food.
  2. Everything mixed together fine and the “pudding” was ready in only a couple hours.
  3. The texture was weird with the seeds still whole, so I decided to blend it up. I saw a picture on another blog of blended up chia pudding and it was smooth and silky. I think she just used a photo of actual chocolate pudding because when I blended mine, you could still see bits of chia seed. It was fine, though, texturally speaking.
  4. The pudding tasted NOTHING like chocolate. Or pudding. Not even a teeny, tiny, little bit. You know what it tasted like? Seeds. Like seed you are planting in a garden. I could taste a hint of the cinnamon I added, but none of the almonds. I ended up adding a bit more vanilla, some sliced bananas, and peanut butter, but it was still very bland and seedy.

Bottom line: It was not good. I mean, it was edible enough in that it didn’t make my stomach turn. I ate it for breakfast 3 days in a row to give it a fair chance, so I feel like I’ve earned the right to say I do not like it. Maybe chia should just stay on weird pet-statues.

Cha-cha-cha- Chia!!

I cannot deny the health benefits of chia seed pudding, but I feel like I was duped, like that time I tried Kale Chips only to discover it was like eating bitter, crunchy leaves. “You won’t miss the real thing” they say.

Yeah, right.

Leave a Reply

