Go-To Tomato Sauce

So a few posts back I made a tomato sauce which I mentioned I don’t normally make. I promised I show you the way I usually make it so here we go.

This is a very simple sauce that can be used for pretty much anything you want. There is no need to buy jarred sauce anymore! Unless you want to, of course. And it freezes beautifully, so you can make a bunch and freeze it batches to keep for use later.

All you need are crushed tomatoes, diced onions, chopped garlic, olive oil, salt, oregano, and basil (fresh or dried. If I have fresh, I’ll use it, but I always have dried in my pantry so it makes it easy).

In pot over medium heat, saute your onions and garlic in a tablespoon or so of olive oil until soft and fragrant. Add about 1 teaspoon each of oregano and basil and about 1/2 teaspoon of salt and stir together. Add cans crushed tomatoes and stir. Let simmer for about 20 minutes.

It is technically ready at this point. You can add other seasonings it might need or you might prefer. I usually add more basil (about 1 to 1-1/2 teaspoons) and a pinch or two of salt, depending on my taste preferences that day. Mix well and serve with your favorite pasta or chicken parm or lasagna or…. the list is endless! It is very versatile.

IMG_3202

IMG_3205

IMG_3203-0

One thought on “Go-To Tomato Sauce

  1. Pingback: Dish #12: Chicken Parmesan (Italy) | Around the World in 80 Plates

Leave a Reply

