Dish #11: (Diet friendly!) Beef and bean burritos (Mexico)

Ok, so I haven’t posted in awhile and I think I need to take some time off already. The hubby and I are going to Punta Cana, Dominican Republic in May and that means we have a mere 5 months to get beach body ready!! So, unless I find something particularly in line with our meal plan, there won’t be many posts from me for a little while. I do promise some Dominican-inspired recipes when I get back though!

I wouldn’t just leave without saying goodbye, so here’s a delicious dish to get you through to my return!

(Diet Friendly) Beef and Bean Burritos

Living my whole life in Southern California (Culver City, by way of Bakersfield and Long Beach), Mexican food has always been an option for any meal I could want. And as delicious as it is, it really isn’t the healthiest of choices! I’m always looking for ways to make it little bit friendlier on the waistline and I think this one fits the bill.

Burritos, or a preface to the modern burrito, has been around for many, many years. The precise origin is unknown, but it is known to have been common among the vaqueros of northern Mexico in the 19th century, the California Central Valley farmworkers, and the Sonoran miners. Either way, the common denominator in these theories is the convenience factor of a packet of food wrapped in a tortilla for the hard workers.

Burritos are most commonly found in Northern Mexico, i.e. Ciudad Juarez, where people can buy them from street carts. Mostly, they are only filled with 2 ingredients, like a meat and refried beans. Burritos started to become known in the US in the 1930s. In California alone, there are at least three different styles of burrito: Mission Burritos in San Francisco, Los Angeles, and San Diego style. All have more ingredients than the traditional Mexican burrito and are much larger!

This burrito is sort of a mix match of different types and I don’t really have a set recipe. It is all up to your specific tastes!

Beef
1lb Lean Ground beef (90-95%)
Taco seasoning (2t garlic salt, 2t cumin,1T chile powder, 1t onion powder. I try not to use the taco seasoning packets if I can help it. They are chock full of sodium. But, you know, sometimes I do because that’s real life.) You can adjust the seasonings if you need to suit your own tastes

Brown the beef in a skillet, just before it’s done, add the seasonings and continue cooking until done.

Beans
I make these in the crock pot and they are so good, you won’t even miss the fat usually used in refried beans!

All you need is dry pinto beans and water. However much beans you put in, make sure they are well covered in water. It’s better to put too much than not enough. I did 1 cup of beans and like 6 or 7 cups of water. You can always drain water at the end, but if there isn’t enough while it’s cooking, the beans will dry up and burn.

In the crock pot, add the beans, 1/2 an onion diced, 3 garlic cloves, 2 t cumin, 1 t salt. Top with water.

Cook on high for 6-8 hours.

Drain most of the water into a container. Keep it just in case the beans are too dry when you mash them and you need to add more liquid. Mash the beans with a potato masher or an immersion blender (my favorite method) to your desired consistency. Add more seasoning if you need. I found that most times I need to add a bit more salt. Just remember, you can always add, you can’t take away.

Assemble

I used these multigrain tortillas from Mission Tortilla, and surprise, surprise! they were yummy!! And at only 100 calories a pop, I’m all for it. Now, they aren’t huge, but I felt satisfied after one burrito. (Portion control!)

Put a smear of beans on the tortilla, spoon the meat onto the beans and top with a little cheese (everything in moderation, you guys), and tomatoes. You can add lettuce if you want. I know my husband likes to put his fair share of Tapatio on his.

I promise you, it was so yummy! I think red meat tends to get a bad rap, but if you get a really lean beef, you should be fine. It is loaded with protein and iron.

If the beef really bothers you, you could easily substitute ground turkey or chicken.

Also, if you call the whole thing a Beef and Bean Wrap instead of a tortilla, it sounds healthier :0)

Enjoy!

2015/01/img_3041.jpg

2015/01/img_3042.jpg

One thought on “Dish #11: (Diet friendly!) Beef and bean burritos (Mexico)

  1. Pingback: Not Quite Refried Beans | Food on the Table

Leave a Reply

